|
|
|
|
African American History and Culture
|
eRef Collection |
 |
| (FactsOnFile) - an electronic encyclopedia covering African-American history, from African beginnings through the slave trade, civil rights movement to the present, organized by category: biography, primary sources, subject, timeline, images, and maps and charts.
|
|
America: History and Life
|
Database |
 |
(Ebscohost)- covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, indexing 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
|
|
Congressional (Proquest)
|
Full-text database |
 |
| covers a broad range of Congressional information including House and Senate documents, committee reports, bill tracking and bill texts and campaign finance information. Provides the full text of the National Journal, as well as a searchable CIS/Index, the primary indexing & abstracting source for legislative information since 1970. The Statutes at Large includes both full text and synopses of public laws back to 1789.
|
|
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale)
|
Full-text database |
 |
provides full-text access to international information on women, including journals, newsletters, fact sheets, and research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies.
|
|
CQ Electronic Library
|
Full-text database |
 |
| (CQ Press) - includes CQ Researcher (1991- present), CQ Weekly (1983- present), CQ Public Affairs (1930's - present) and CQ Encyclopedia of American Government.
|
|
CQ Encyclopedia of American Government
|
eRef Book |
 |
| (CQ Press)- provides concise, up-to-date explanations of the who, how, and why of American democracy.
|
|
CQ Public Affairs Collection
|
Full-text database |
 |
| (CQ Press) - (1930's - present) includes primary source documents, statistical overviews, and contact information as well as in-depth reporting on current affairs.
|
|
CQ Researcher
|
Full-text database |
 |
| (CQ Press) - (1991- present), includes original, comprehensive, and unbiased reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
|
|
CQ Weekly
|
Full-text database |
 |
| (CQ Press) - (1983- present), covers issues related to the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering.
|
|
Dissertations & Theses: Full Text (Proquest)
|
Full-text database |
 |
includes over 1 million full text and 2.4 million citations for dissertations and theses from around the world, dating as far back as the 1870’s. Please note: full text documents may be up to 500 pages. Please use discretion and consider all options before printing.
|
|
Essay & General Literature Index (Wilson)
|
Database |
 |
Provides citations for 86,000 essays and book chapters. Covers the humanities and social sciences, including literary works, art history, drama, and film, from 1985-present. Note: to check to see if the library owns this title click on “Library Owns?” If not owned by Adelphi, you can check ConnectNY for holdings in our consortium.
|
|
Historical Abstracts
|
Database |
 |
(Ebscohost)- covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, indexing more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
|
|
Homeland Digital Security Library
|
Full-text database |
 |
| A collection of over 98,500 full text documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from sources including U.S. federal, state and local government, international government and institutions, nonprofit organizations and private entities. HSDL is sponsored by the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA.
|
|
JSTOR
|
Full-text database |
 |
| a searchable scholarly archive providing the full text of journal articles in business, economics, history, political science, literature, sociology, as well as other key fields in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences. Coverage of each journal begins with its first volume (going back to the 1880s, in some cases), and usually excludes the most recent 2-5 years.
|
|
LexisNexis Academic Universe
|
Full-text database |
 |
| provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
|
|
Military Collection (Proquest)
|
Full-text database |
 |
| covers topics across government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications and civil engineering. It includes around 550 titles, with more than 400 available in full-text.
|
|
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
|
eRef Collection |
 |
Includes pro and con viewpoints on a wide range of social issues, from terrorism and gun control to stem cell research.
|
|
Oxresearch (Proquest)
|
Full-text database |
 |
| provides brief analytical articles on world and regional economic and political developments of major significance, as well as multi-disciplinary articles compiled by faculty at Oxford and other universities.
|
|
Pais Archive
|
Database |
 |
| (Proquest) - provides historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies, including references to articles, books, and more, from 1937 - 1976.
|
|
Pais International
|
Database |
 |
| (Proquest) - index to articles, books, conference proceedings, etc. about public affairs.
|
|
Project Muse
|
Full-text database |
 |
provides the full text of scholarly journals in fields including literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics. Years of coverage vary by title with selected titles beginning as early as 1993.
**Note: if you receive any gateway errors when using the link above, use this alternate URL: http://0-muse.uq.edu.au.alicat.adelphi.edu/
|
|
Proquest Congressional
|
Full-text database |
 |
| covers a broad range of Congressional information including House and Senate documents, committee reports, bill tracking and bill texts and campaign finance information. Provides the full text of the National Journal, as well as a searchable CIS/Index, the primary indexing & abstracting source for legislative information since 1970. The Statutes at Large includes both full text and synopses of public laws back to 1789.
|
|
Social Sciences Full Text
|
Full-text database |
 |
| (Wilson) - includes citations and abstracts, 1983 to the present, with some full text articles, 1995 to the present, in applied and theoretical aspects of sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science and law.
|
|
Sociological Abstracts
|
Database |
 |
| (Proquest)- provides bibliographic information from 1963 - present in the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Coverage includes journal articles, book reviews, books, and book chapters.
|
P.O. Box 701