RESEARCH BY SUBJECT - SOCIAL WORK

Internet Resources:
- Commercial Sites
- University Sites
- Association Sites
- Tests and Assessment
- Government Sites

Commercial Sites
The New Social Worker Online
Links to a very comprehensive list of social work related sites on many relevant topics.

Social Work Student Center


Pat McClendon's Clinical Social Work Page
Pat McClendon is a graduate of the Kent School of Social Work at the University of Louisville. She has put together a website with the clinical practitioner and student of Social Work in mind. Alphabetically arranged with useful subject areas (child abuse, violence, substance abuse, gender, legal resources, client support), it is definitely worth a look.

Social Work Search Information that Matters to You
In early 1995 Tom Cleereman's Social Work Site was created. The founder, Thomas Cleereman, MSW, created the website to provide information and links to other websites of interest to social workers and other helping professionals. Now this former tiny personal website has become a major portal for the online Social Work community by providing Internet related services to social workers and other helping professionals. Socialworksearch.com has grown to over 500 different webpages of services and internet links offering the largest online database of services devoted solely to the Social Work profession.

PolicyArchive
A comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 30,000 documents.

Social Work News
SocialWorkNews.net checks dozens of news feeds every two minutes. We automatically categorize, locate and link social work related news stories to ensure you are able to get to the information you need.

Social Work Examination Services Inc. (SWES)
Provides on-site review courses and home study programs specifically designed to prepare social workers for license examinations throughout the United States.


University Sites
These sites offer links through the web pages of the university libraries to other useful web pages.
Columbia University
These guides list print and electronic sources which will help you begin research on specialized topics in the Social Work Library and on the internet. Other sources may be found using a variety sources available through the Columbia University Libraries. Consult the Social Work Librarian for additional assistance.

Humboldt University Social Work Resources on the Web

California State University Stanislaus Library


Catholic University
The guide to social policy resources site is arranged topically to help users find internet resources on social policy issues. The annotated list of sites offers a good starting point when looking for online valid resources in areas such as aging, disabilities, poverty, social security and interesting topics.

Social Work Research Guide
The George Warren Brown School of Social Work at Washington University in St.Louis produced this page. The research guide offers a “… wide variety of online resources of interest to social workers and those in the social services fields…”

Praxis: Resources for Social and Economic Development
Richard Estes, a Social Work professor at the University of Pennsylvania created this website. It's purpose is to, "provide access to a vast array of archival resources on international and comparative social development. [It has a] commitment...to the promotion of positive social change through informed action. Thus, PRAXIS has been designed to meet the informational needs of ... social work educators and students with international interests; and,other educators and students who require assistance in locating useful national and international resources on social and economic development."

Grassroots: Social Science Search
From the School of Social Work at Andrews University, this site is a searchable database of over 1,500 web sites related to social work research and practice. Lists of the sites can also be browsed by topics.

An Introduction to Social Policy: Social Policy, Social Welfare, the Welfare State, and Social Services
"Social Policy is the study of social welfare, and its relationship to politics and society. It focuses on the social services and the welfare state. These pages outline the main issues." Paul Spicker, holds the Grampian Chair of Public Policy at the Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen, Scotland, and works as the Director of the Centre for Public Policy and Management. The Website offers a wealth of documented sources and useful links on several topics related to Social Policy for the UK, United States and other countries. Excellent site worth visiting.

Information for Practice: News & New Scholarships from Around the World
To help social service professionals throughout the world conveniently maintain an awareness of news regarding the profession and emerging scholarships. The goal is to identify and deliver the highest quality available in each category. Regularly delivers and interesting mix of new information. Creates a more global sense of the profession for users from all locales. Serves as a global socialization force for students.

University of Michigan Library
This research guide will take you through many of the resources available for social work at the University of Michigan.

University of Montana: Social Work Research Guide
To help social service professionals throughout the world conveniently maintain an awareness of news regarding the profession and emerging scholarships. The goal is to identify and deliver the highest quality available in each category. Regularly delivers and interesting mix of new information. Creates a more global sense of the profession for users from all locales. Serves as a global socialization force for students.


Association Sites
National Association of Social Workers Publications
Since Swirbul Library received these publications, this website is helpful in learning about materials that Adelphi owns, on relevant subjects.

National Association of Social Workers (NASW)
Includes JOBLINK, Code of Ethics and contact with local chapters and sections.

Council on Social Work Education (CSWE)
It links to a list of other national and international social work association web pages.

Clinical Social Work Federation
The CSWF is a confederation of 31 state societies for clinical social work. Their Web site includes various links to clinical social work resources on the net, news items, and especially good are the legislative alerts. Here you will find good government information and documents related to current issues and policy.

Congress.org
Congressional, executive and judicial directories, as well as state governors. Information on Congressional issues and votes, as well as pending legislation.

Social Work Today Resources
SocialWorkNews.net checks dozens of news feeds every two minutes. We automatically categorize, locate and link social work related news stories to ensure you are able to get to the information you need.

Clinical Social Work Association


American Board of Examiners in Clinical Social Work


School Social Work Association of America
Resources include continuing education opportunities, membership benefits, professional resources and information about advocacy that will serve as a resource for promoting the profession on the local, state and national levels.

Society for Social Work and Research


Civic Practices Network
Civic Practices Network (CPN) is a collaborative and nonpartisan project bringing together a diverse array of organizations and perspectives within the civic renewal movement.


Tests and Assessment
Mental Measurements Yearbook’s Test Reviews Online
Access test information online, as it appears in MMY. It includes cumulative indexing for all years of MMY.

TestLink
The ETS Test Collection is the largest test collection in the world. It includes tests and other measurement devices from the early 1900s to the present.

Social Work Policy Institute (SWP)
The Social Work Policy Institute examines issues that relate to the work of social workers, including how to serve people who have multiple or complex needs and how public agencies and other structures deliver health and human services.


Government Sites
Open CRS
The congressional research service acts as the public policy research arm of Congress. CRS does not offer direct access to their information. It is not intended for public consumption or for dissemination to libraries so accessing these documents is not always easy. The function of the CRS report is to clearly define and clarify an issue from different perspectives in the legislative context to members of congress and their committees. Reports may include policy analysis, economic studies, statistical reviews, and legal analyses. A project of the Center for Democracy & Technology and through the cooperation of several organizations and collectors of CRS Reports, Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports already in the public domain and encourages Congress to provide public access to all CRS Reports. CRS reports are ideal for researchers because they present nonpartisan information on present and past legislation from all sides of an issue, including legislation on many social issues. The reports and briefs are well- written, analytical and clarify difficult complicated issues clearly even for the average reader.

New York State Office for the Aging
Legislation and other NY and USA information on legislation, including status of bills, etc.

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
One stop resource employment needs.

U.S. Census Bureau Economic Indicators
Serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.

Child Welfare Information Gateway
Connects child welfare and related professionals to comprehensive information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. We feature the latest on topics from prevention to permanency, including child abuse and neglect, foster care, and adoption. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Provides leadership and devotes its resources - programs, policies, information and data, contracts and grants- toward helping the Nation act on the knowledge that: Behavioral Health is essential for health Prevention works, Treatment is effective, and People recover from mental and substance use disorders. Use this site to find statistics, policy, treatments and interventions for numerous social issues.



Adelphi University | 1 South Ave | P.O. Box 701 | Garden City, NY 11530-0701 | 1-800-ADELPHI (233-5744)