RESEARCH BY SUBJECT - PERFORMING ARTS

Internet Resources:

American Variety Stage
The American Variety Stage is a multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, which thrived from 1870-1920.
The Congress on Research in Dance
CORD is a nonprofit organization that provides opportunities for dance professionals from a broad range of specialties to exchange ideas, resources, and methodologies in all aspects of dance and related fields and promote the accessibility of research materials.
Dance Heritage Coalition
DHC is a national alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance. Its mission is to preserve, make accessible, enhance and augment the materials that document the artistic accomplishments in dance of the past, present, and future.
Internet Broadway Database
IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics.
Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
The mother of all movie databases containing more than 200,000 entries
Lortel Archives: the Internet off-Broadway database
The Lortel Archives, also known as the Internet Off-Broadway Database, provides a catalogue of shows produced Off-Broadway.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
A performing arts resource guide that allows you to search and browse descriptions of more than 235 music, theater and dance resources at the Library of Congress by subject, title, or name.
Performing Arts in America, 1875-1923
Performing Arts in America 1875 -1923, a web site of The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts provides resources ranging from the Broadway theater and Tin Pan Alley to the art of dancer Loie Fuller and composer Charles Griffes, all in original documents, recorded sound, and film.
Playbill Vault
The official database for theatre programs published by Playbill Inc. which provides fully searchable primary resource material for theatre research.


Adelphi University | 1 South Ave | P.O. Box 701 | Garden City, NY 11530-0701 | 1-800-ADELPHI (233-5744)