RESEARCH BY SUBJECT - NURSING

Internet Resources:
- Advocacy
-
Aging
- Aids/HIV
- Alternative Healing
- Cancer
- Careers/Employment/Licensing
- CINAHL
- Collection Development
- Consumer Health/Patient Education
- Diseases
- Drugs-Formulary, etc.
- Eating Disorders
- Evidence Based Medicine/Nursing
- Healing Arts
- Health: Miscellaneous
- Hospitals
- Informatics
- Information Literacy
- Journals
- Men's Health
- Nursing: Clinical
- Nursing: Miscellaneous
- Nursing Theory
- Nutrition
- Research
- State Nursing Boards
- Statistics
- Transcultural Nursing
- Women's Health


Advocacy
American Nurses Association (ANA)
"Established in 2003, the Center for American Nurses offers tools, services and strategies designed to make nurses their own best advocates in their practice environments."
Center for Nursing Advocacy
Promotes a more positive portrayal of nurses in the media. Site includes discussion forums, links to nursing organizations and literature sources supporting the work of the Center, letter writing campaigns, etc.

Aging
American Geriatrics Society
Includes guidelines, recommendations and tools for healthcare professionals, as well as public policy and research information.

Aids/HIV
AIDSinfo
A project of the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, this site provides information on treatment, prevention, and research for lay people, health care professionals, and researchers. Links to information on vaccines and clinical trials as well as other resources are included.
CDC National Information Prevention Network
A service of the Centers for Disease Control National Center for HIV, STD, and TB Prevention. It provides links to information about education, prevention, published materials, research findings, and news about related trends regarding HIV/AIDS, sexually transmitted diseases (STD), and tuberculosis (TB).
HIV InSite Gateway to AIDS Knowledge
Provides comprehensive up-to-date information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and policy from the University of California , San Francisco.
The Body: The Complete Aids and HIV Information Resource
A commercial site provided by the Body Health Resources Corporation. Focusing on education, this site contains a plethora of information provided by organizations and experts and provides a place where information and ideas can be exchanged through chat and bulletin boards. Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, conference information, news updates, and web highlights are accessible on the companion website, The Body Pro: The HIV Resource for Health Professionals . Both sites are updated daily.
ÆgiS: Aids Education Global Information System
A nonprofit charitable and educational corporation it is said to be the most comprehensive HIV-related website on the Internet with more than 1,000,000 articles, covering the world from 1981 to the present,. It is particularly noted for the availability of resources that provide up-to-date news services and for its law library that provides legal information about HIV-related cases.

Alternate Healing
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine. Their website provides information for consumers and health professionals including health topics, research results, clinical practice guidelines, and information about grants, funding, and training.

Cancer
Cancer.gov
The National Cancer Institute website and provides information about types of cancer, prevention, treatment, resources, clinical trials, statistics, research programs and funding. Some information is available in Spanish. Links to Pubmed and other websites are also provided.
The National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship
An advocacy organization. The site provides step-by-step links. in English and Spanish, to a variety of cancer resources.
MeL: Health Information Resources
Provides links to cancer sites selected by librarians. (Click on Diseases, then click on Cancer).
OncoLink
Designed for educational purposes, and sanctioned by the University of Pennsylvania's Medical Center and Cancer Center, OncoLink's objectives are dissemination of information relevant to the field of oncology, education of healthcare personnel, patients, families, and other interested parties, and rapid collection of information pertinent to the specialty. The site provides information on types of cancers, treatment options, coping with cancer, clinical trials, and cancer resources as well as an Ask the Experts section and more. In English or Spanish.

Careers/Employment/Licensing
MedBioWorld
This list of Career Opportunity Websites provides nursing recruitment links.
Nursing Center's Career Center
Provides information about job searches, travel nursing opportunities, licensure, certification, and other career related resources.

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL)
CINAHL
Includes links to selected full-text journals and many nursing web sites. Users with Adelphi ID can access the CINAHL database through the Adelphi Library web page.
Collection Development
Collection Development for Academic Nursing Collections
A compilation of resources in print, nonprint and electronic formats prepared for librarians and teaching faculty.

Consumer Health/Patient Education
Healthfinder
Developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this site provides links to web sites and selected documents for consumer health information, including online health publications, clearinghouses, web sites, self-help groups, government agencies, academic centers, and nonprofit agencies.
New York Online Access to Health (NOAH)
Formed by several New York City library organizations, this site provides links to consumer health information in Spanish and English.

Diseases
Some of the miscellaneous nursing sites listed below have links to resources for diseases. Also see Aging
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Provides information on a variety of health topics and diseases. It provides access to Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report and the journal, Emerging and Infectious Diseases.
The Mayo Clinic Health and Medical Information
Contains up-to-date information on the diagnosis, treatment, and clinical trials for specific diseases.
Merck Manuals Medical Library
Provides diagnosis and therapy information for diseases.

Drugs - Formulary, etc.
Online Drug Information from the Medical College of Wisconsin
Includes analgesic drug guidelines, a guide to antibiotics, and links to drug information sites.
RXLIST
Provides detailed pharmaceutical information for consumers and health professionals on brand and generic drug information. The site includes a list of the top 200 prescriptions, lists of new drugs, recent drug updates and alternative drugs, and a drug-specific discussion board.

Eating Disorders
Eating Disorders
This National Institute of Mental Health provides information on eating disorders and links to additional resources.

Evidence-based Medicine/Nursing
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Provides links to evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
Joanna Briggs Institute
The Evidence Based Nursing page of the JBI includes an overview of evidence-based medicine and nursing and provides links to resources.

Healing Arts
Collection Development Resources
A compilation of resources in print, nonprint, and electronic formats for art, music, dance, and drama therapy prepared for librarians and teaching faculty.

Health - Miscellaneous
Healthweb
Provides links to a selection of health resources in a variety of areas including nursing, minority health, dermatology, oncology, etc. Health science librarians and information professionals as part of the HealthWeb Project, which seeks to organize and enhance access to Internet health resources, have critically evaluated all sites. A directory of doctoral programs worldwide, links to nursing schools and career information is provided.
Hardin MD
A Directory of Internet Health Sources and a good starting point when looking for health and medicine network resources. "Just Plain Links" are mostly on very specific or newly emerging subjects. Links to medical pictures are another feature.
The National Institutes of Health - Health Information
Provides links to many professional and consumer health resources.

Hospitals
American Hospital Directory
Hospital profiles include key characteristics, utilization, and financial information. State and national hospital statistics are also provided. Additional information is provided only to subscribers.
Hospital Web
Provides links to hospitals in the U.S. and other countries

Informatics
Nursing-Informatics.com
"This Nursing Informatics site has been created to offer some unique comprehensive resources for Nurses interested in developing related knowledge and applicable skills."
Nursing Informatics Online
Forums and links to resources in nursing informatics.

Information Literacy
CIEA in Nursing Information Literacy
A compilation of active learning small group scenarios for nursing information literacy classes.

Journals
FreeMedical Journals
Provides free access to journals, some with full text, covering a variety of health and medical specialties including nursing. An e-mail alert service is available.
NCBI PubMed
Provides free access to MEDLINE.

Men's Health
Men's Health
Part of the 4women.gov website, this page provides links to resources on men's health
Men's Health Network
Provides links to resources on men's health

Nursing - Clinical
Nursing at the NIH Clinical Center
Describes nursing in a research environment.

Nursing - Miscellaneous
Allnurses.com
Hosts online forums on a plethora of nursing topics. Includes links to boards of nursing.
Nursing Center
Contains information on continuing education, career enhancement, and history of nursing. Includes online forums, links to nursing organizations, and journal article abstracts.
Martindale's Health Science Guide
Contains a wealth of nursing and health care information. For nursing students, the Virtual Nursing Center section contains links to nursing journals, basic science courses, atlases, teaching modules, videos/movies, nursing practice and protocols, on-line journals and CE credit, clinical examinations/physical exams, and laboratory diagnostics and protocols.
Selected Nursing Websites
Provides links to a multitude of resources including nurse practitioners, nursing history, nursing informatics, nursing jobs, research, theorists, and professional associations

Nursing Theory
The Nursing Theory Page
Provides links to resources about nursing theories, theorists, models, nursing theory conferences, primary and secondary book sources and other nursing theory sites.
NurseScribe's nursing Theory Page
Provides links to a variety of resources for nursing theory and theorists.

Nutrition
The U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Information Center
Provides access to resources for education and training, reports and studies, information about dietary supplements, food labeling, food composition, diet and disease, etc.
The Arbor Nutrition Guide
Edited by Dr. Tony Helman, a physician and nutritionist based in Australia . The guide provides links to nutrition resources including organizations, mailing lists, and newsgroups and includes descriptions of the sites.
Nutrition.gov
Provides links to health and nutrition information available on government web sites and includes food safety, food facts, health management, lifestyle issues, research, and resources.

Research
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Contains links to clinical information, funding opportunities, research findings, specific populations, data and surveys, quality and patient safety, etc.
National Institute of Nursing Research
Site includes information about research funding and programs and links to nursing and other organizations and databases.
Research Page of Signa Theta Tau
The Honor Society of Nursing provides links to conferences, grant opportunities and specialty nursing organizations. The link to the Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library provides access to the Registry of Nursing Research, which contains both published and unpublished research. The registry keeps information about nurse researchers, their studies and projects, and the results of the studies.

State Nursing Boards
National Council of State Boards of Nursing
Provides contact Information and web sites for state boards of nursing and other information on regulation and licensure.

Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics
Provides a wealth of statistical information from quick statistics on a variety of common health topics to survey data collection systems. The site offers resources for health professionals, students, faculty, researchers, and the general public.

Transcultural Nursing
Transcultural and Multicultural Health Links
Compiled by a librarian this site includes links to general resources, religious groups, ethnic groups and special populations.

Women's Health
The National Women's Health Information Center
A service of The Office on Women's Health - Department of Health and Human Services. A gateway site to selected women's health information resources, it is intended for use by consumers, health professionals, and researchers.


Adelphi University | 1 South Ave | P.O. Box 701 | Garden City, NY 11530-0701 | 1-800-ADELPHI (233-5744)