RESEARCH BY SUBJECT - HISTORY

Internet Resources:

African American Web Connection
At menu selection click history hyperlink. Contains the African American Mosaic/Library of Congress Resource Guide to Black History and Culture, Gullah Language and Culture, AfriGeneas/African Ancestored Genealogy, the Negro Baseball Leauges Home Page, and a Kwanzaa Information Center to list just a few subject areas on this all encompassing site.
American Memory from the Library of Congress
Today in History information. Click on Collection Finder and then click History. An excellent location for primary sources, for example: selected Papers of Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln and Frederick Douglass, Presidential Inaugurations, Native American Culture, Puerto Rico at the Dawn of the Modern Age, and Slavery and Law Documents (1740-1860).
Avalon Project at Yale Law School
Contains major documents in law, history, economics and diplomacy from pre 18th century to the 21st century. Primary sources from the Declaration of the Rights of Man, 1789 to a collection of documents from Attack on America - September 11, 2001.
Country Studies from the Library of Congress
101 country profiles covers geography, society, economy, government and politics, and historical settings.
Department of State
Here you will find the on-line versions of the The Foreign Relations of the United States series which presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Also available is a timeline of diplomatic history. Information is available on international issues. Also available are the State Department's Country Study Reports and many other valuable links to information.
National Archives and Records Administration: Presidents
Provides direct links to ten individual Presidential Libraries.
Thomas Legislative Information on the Internet from the Library of Congress
Federal legislative information, past and present.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Photographic archive, survivor registry available in twelve languages, personal histories, and a Holocaust Learning Center are a few areas covered.
History Gateway at Kansas
This history site is maintained and continually updated at the University of Kansas. A scholarly site which provides access information by Countries and Regions, Historical Topics, Eras, and Epochs. Scholarly Exchange (Associations, Grants and Fellowships), Maps for Historians, are just a sampling of this extensive site.
University of Michigan: Documents Center/Documents in the News/Current Events Research
Coordinated by the Documents Center, University of Michigan Library. Covers current Federal, Foreign, International, State/Local news areas and events from 1995-2002. Some topics include the USS Cole Bombing, World Conference Against Racism, United States Terrorist Attacks, and Enron.
ARD: The Anthropology Review Database
"ARD is an ever-growing, free, and fully searchable database of reviews covering the entire gamut of anthropological publications, including books, audiovisual materials, software & multimedia, exhibits, tourist sites, conferences, and on-line resources...Currently the database contains the signed, refereed reviews we publish ourselves, as well as links to those published in a number of online publications and sites. (We plan to gradually add bibliographic data from the flagship anthropological print periodicals.)"
Voice of the Shuttle
Prof. Alan Liu and his team from the English Department at UC Santa Barbara maintain this dynamic humanities database. In addition to general history links, there are sections for historiography, foreign history, History journals, Conferences and papers along with many other nteresting links.


Adelphi University | 1 South Ave | P.O. Box 701 | Garden City, NY 11530-0701 | 1-800-ADELPHI (233-5744)