Music Therapy Resources
Art Therapy
Dance Therapy
Drama Therapy
Music Therapy

Publishers Vendors/Booksellers Organizations/Associations Journals
Listservs/Forums Databases Library Catalogs Miscellaneous


Aquarius Health Care Videos
Producer of "films that help people deal with life's challenges," with a limited number related to the healing arts.

Baywood Publishing Company
Publishes current research and information in the social sciences and humanities. Some topics are health policy, community health, gerontology, death and bereavement, imagery, psychiatry, and self-help, with a few titles related to the healing arts.

Publishes books on clinical psychology, psychiatry, sychoanalysis, analytical psychology, therapy, counselling, mental health and other professional subjects including music therapy.

Bushy Theater, Inc.
Producer of documentary videos highlighting the work of pioneers in dance/movement, expressive and creative arts therapies.

Charles C. Thomas Publisher, Ltd.
For books on music therapy in their online catalog see Behavioral Sciences>>Psychiatry>>Creative Therapies

Films for the Humanities and Sciences
Produces several arts and music therapy related videos.

Jessica Kingsley Publishers
Publishes in both the theory and practice of music therapy, as well as the related disciplines of art therapy, drama therapy, dance and movement therapy, storymaking, and play therapy.

John Wiley & Sons
Publishes a small number books related to art and music therapy.

Parkway Publishers
Publisher of a teaching aid book on expressive arts therapy.

Routledge (also see Taylor & Francis Group)
Publishes scholarly books in the social sciences and humanities..For books on music therapy also search under the subject Psychotherapy.

Sounds True
Publishes audio and video materials about spiritual traditions, meditation, psychology, creativity, health and healing, self-discovery, relationships, and more and includes the healing arts.

Taylor & Francis Group
An international academic publisher, the Taylor & Francis Group includes a variety of imprints.
Books related to music therapy can be found by searching this website.

Return to Top of Music Page


Online bookstore for used and hard-to-find books, movies and music.
Online bookstore.

Barnes and Noble
Online bookstore.
Online bookstore for purchase and rentals.

Fanlight Productions
Distributor of videos with an emphasis on mental health and healthcare, etc.

MMB Music, Inc.
 Books, tapes and videos in the areas of music, art, drama, poetry, movement/dance, and the prevention and treatment of injuries in performing artists.

Questia: the Online Library of Books and Journals
An online library that provides access to books and journal articles in the humanities and social sciences, plus magazine and newspaper articles.
Includes books and articles related to music therapy.

Return to Top of Music Page


American Music Therapy Association, Inc.
The mission of the American Music Therapy Association is to advance public awareness of the benefits of music therapy and increase access
to quality music therapy services in a rapidly changing world.

Arts and Healing Network
The Arts and Healing Network's web site is an international resource for anyone interested in the healing potential of the arts. Includes links to books, and audio and video products.

Canadian Association for Music Therapy
Promotes the use and development of music therapy in the treatment, education, training, and rehabilitation of children and adults suffering from emotional, physical, or mental handicaps.

Center for Training and Research in Music Therapy (ADIMU)
A non-profit organization established in 1991. ADIMU is dedicated to promoting the development of music therapy, including training, research, the exchange of information, and international cooperation among music therapy associations, music therapists, and other related professionals.

The National Coalition of Arts Therapies Associations
The National Coalition of Creative Arts Therapies Associations (NCCATA), founded in 1979, is an alliance of professional associations dedicated to the advancement of the arts as therapeutic modalities. NCCATA represents over 8000 individual members of six creative arts therapies associations.

World Federation of Music Therapy
The World Federation of Music Therapy, Incorporated (WFMT) is the only international organization dedicated to the development and promotion of music therapy world wide and was established at the 5th World Congress of Music Therapy in Genoa Italy, in 1985. The principal objective of the WFMT is to act
as the International Organization for the profession of music therapy.

Return to Top of Music Page


The Arts in Psychotherapy
This international, scholarly journal publishes articles on the theory and practice of art, dance/movement, drama, music, and poetry therapy.

British Journal of Music Therapy
Produced jointly by the Association of Professional Music Therapists and the British Society for Music Therapy, this journal publishes articles written by music therapists on clinical work, theoretical issues and research and is published twice yearly.

International Journal of Arts Medicine
The official journal of The International Arts Medicine Association (IAMA) and The International Society for Music in Medicine (ISMIM) publishes scholarly articles on the creative arts and healing.

Journal of Expressive Therapy: Online Journal of The National Expressive Therapy Association
This free online journal is "intended to serve as a forum for the writings of members of The National Expressive Therapy Association."

The Journal of Music Therapy
A forum for authoritative articles of current music therapy research and theory, including book reviews and guest editorials. An index appears in
issue four of each volume.

Music Therapy Perspectives
Designed to appeal to a wide readership, both inside and outside the profession of music therapy, articles focus on music therapy practice, as
well as academics and administration.
A monthly web magazine for and by psychotherapists featuring interviews, articles, humor, book reviews, therapy videotapes, and other resources.

PSYCLINE : Your Guide to Psychology and Social Science Journals on the Web
An index of psychology and social science journals on the web.

Return to Top of Music Page


A moderated forum for acqusitions librarians and others interested in the acquisition of library resources.

Arts & Healing Network Bulletin Board
This bulletin board has nine moderated forums including one for books,videos, and tapes. Registration is open to all.

Library collection development listserv.

Creative Arts Therapies International
An unmoderated forum for creative arts therapies.

Heather Hill Healing Arts Therapies Discussion Forum
Moderated by the Director of Integrative Therapies at Heather Hill Hospital & Health Partnership, this forum includes discussion of issues related to music therapy.

The Music Therapy ListServ
The Music Therapy ListServ is a discussion forum where people can discuss the use of music to restore, maintain, and improve mental and physical

VideoLib Electronic Discussion
An unmoderated list, hosted by the UC Berkeley Library, whose primary focus is video collection including issues related to the selection, acquisition and evaluation of video resources.

Return to Top of Music Page


Citations, abstracts and selected full text for print and nonprint resources in nursing and allied health. By subscription only.

Education (H.W. Wilson)
Citations, abstracts, and full text for articles in publications in the field of education. By subscription only.

Citations for articles in education periodicals and for documents on ERIC microfiche. Unrestricted Access on the Internet.

International Index to Music Periodicals, Full Text Edition
An index of scholarly and popular music periodicals and other documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. By subscription only.

Medline (Pubmed)
Citations and abstracts for over 11,000,000 articles in biomedical journals. Unrestricted access on the Internet.

Database of citations and abstracts for publications about psychology and related disciplines from the 1880's to the present. By subscription only.

Return to Top of Music Page


Colorado State University (Fort Collins, CO) - Colorado State University Libraries

Drexel University (Philadelphia, PA) - Health Sciences Libraries Catalog

East Carolina University (Greenville, NC) - Joyner Library

Florida State University (Tallahasseee, FL) - Florida State University Catalog

Howard University (Washington, DC) - Howard University Library

Illinois State University (Normal, IL) - Milner Library

Immaculata University (Immaculata, PA) - Gabriele Library

Lesley University (Cambridge, MA) - Fenway Libraries Online

Loyola University New Orleans (New Orleans, LA) - J. Edgar & Louise S. Monroe Library

Michigan State University (East Lansing, MI) - Michigan State University Libraries

Montclair State University (Upper Montclair, NJ) - Harry A. Sprague Library

Naropa University (Boulder, CO) - Allen Ginsberg Library

New York University (New York, NY) - Bobst Library

Ohio University (Athens, OH) - Ohio University Libraries

Radford University (Radford, VA) - McConnell Library

Shenandoah University (Winchester, VA) - Shenandoah University Libraries

Southern Methodist University (Dallas, TX) - Hamon Arts Library

Temple University (Philadelphia, PA) - Temple University Libraries

Texas Woman's University (Denton, TX) - Texas Woman's University Libraries

University of Georgia (Athens, GA) - University of Georgia Libraries

University of Iowa (Iowa City, IA) - University of Iowa Libraries

University of Kansas (Lawrence, KS) - Thomas Gorton Music and Dance Library

University of Miami (Coral Gables, FL) - University of Miami Libraries

University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN) - University of Minnesota Libraries

University of Missouri - Kansas City (Kansas City, MO) - University of Missouri-Kansas City Libraries

University of the Pacific (Stockton, CA) - University of the Pacific Library

Western Michigan University (Kalamazoo, MI) - Harper C. Maybee Music and Dance Library

Return to Top of Music Page


Acquisitions and collection development site for librarians and others. Provides many links.

Graduate School Directories
Provides geographical lists of graduate school programs in arts therapy and creative arts therapy.

Return to Top of Music Page
Last revision 7-29-15