RESEARCH BY SUBJECT - EDUCATION

Internet Resources:

ALSC's Newberry Medal
This site is sponsored by American Library Association’s committee for the Association for Library Services to Children. Discover the committee members, criteria and process used to present the past and present Newbery, Caldecott, Batchelder and Laura Engel Wilder award winners.
APA Online
Describes how to cite your research in APA style.
ASCD,The Association for Support & Curriculum Development
A great teacher resource site that contains links for curriculum resources, licensure, certification, software, hardware, lesson plans, home schooling, state standards, and includes a daily newspaper.
Brinton
Provides links to information about research, pedagogy, educational theories, educational technology, gaming, action research and much, much more.
Buros Center for Testing
Information available for over 4,000 commercially available tests taken directly from the Mental Measurements Yearbook. Searches can be completed by keyword, subject or title. 2,000 tests include reviews which can be purchased online.
Carol Hurst’s Children Literature
A wonderful website chock full of suggestions in children’s literature that includes activities for grades K-12.
Cloud net
Provides resources and lesson plans for young adults.
Cooperative Children’s Book Center
P rovided by the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, provides a complete list of award winners in children’s and young adult literature as well as a featured book of the week, links to authors and topical discussions.
EDSITEment
This site is maintained by the National Endowment for the Humanities Organization. As this site states, it “brings humanities online resources from some of the world’s great museums, libraries, cultural institutions, and universities directly to your classroom.”
Educator’s Reference Desk
Sponsored by the Information Institute of Syracuse, this site contains lesson plans that are arranged by subject area and grade level, and includes such subjects as education management, assessment, home schooling, special education, learning theories and much more. This site retains the archive of questions from the ASKERIC.org site.
Education World
Includes over 200 lesson plans that span the curriculum and include ideas for critical thinking and education technology.
Educational Hotlinks for Middle School People
Kean University and the New JerseyConsortium for Middle Schools have put together a website that contains hundreds of links to middle school related topics.
Edutopia
Offered by the George Lucas Education Foundation, this site is designed to keep educators, parents and policymakers informed about the latest trends and ideas in education. It contains articles, videos and links that discuss topics such as the digital divide, project-based learning, teacher preparation and parent involvement.
ERIC
The new web address for the ERIC database sponsored by the Institute of Educational Services of the U.S. Department of Education, contains 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. For the first time the public has access to 107,000 non-journal documents available in full text for free. These full text articles cover the years 1993 – 2004.
ETS Tests
Over 20,000 tests from the 1900’s to present are contained in this collection and were acquired from a variety of U.S. publishers and individual test authors. Foreign tests are also included in the collection, including some from Canada , Great Britain , and Australia .
The Gateway to Educational Materials (GEM) Project
A Consortium effort to provide educators with quick and easy access to the substantial but uncatalogued collections of education materials found on various federal, state, university, non-profit and commercial Internet sites.
George B. Brain Education Library Guide to Information Resources in Education Washington State University has provided a Guide to Information on Education. The site provides links to assist educators in finding jobs, professional organizations, education statistics, curriculum materials and lesson plans.
The International Children’s Digital Library
Includes an ambitious goal of obtaining 10,000 electronic children’s books targeting ages 3 – 13 in over 100 languages.
Learner. Org by Annenberg/CPB
Part of the Annenberg Foundation, this site focuses on web and print resources for the professional development of K-12 teachers.
The Library of Congress
Includes information for teachers, librarians, students and families alike. Visit the American Memory Project or view the web casts for teachers.
The Math Forum
Offered by the Drexel School of Education, this site provides lesson plans and resources devoted to math.
Merlot
A free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education. Links to online learning materials are collected along with annotations such as peer reviews and assignments. Teachers are encouraged to add their learning materials to the site’s database.
Judy Horn’s MiddleSchool.net
Provides links and resources for teachers, administrators and staff.
My Teacher’s Software
A software site that has reasonable prices.
The National Center for Education Statistics
A primary source for statistics on the condition of education which includes the subjects of crime, safety and future projections.
The National Institute for Literacy
Provides links, reports, statistics, programs, services and publications about literacy.
New York State Department of Education
Provides links to employment opportunities, NY State libraries, teacher certification, curriculum resources and curriculum resource guides.
Plagiarism Stoppers: A teacher’s Guide
Helps teachers identify plagiarism and show students how to prevent it.
Purdue’s Owl
This page contains the research process step by step in APA format.
Read-Write-Think
Sponsored by the International Reading Association and NCTE provide lessons, includes web resources and standards in English Language Arts.
Scholastic
Has over 10,000 lesson plans that are organized by both subject and grade.
The Smithsonian
Provides lesson plans that can be found by subject or grade level in art and design, science and technology, history and culture, and language arts.
NYC’s Social Responsibility Metropolitan Area
Provides lesson plans, essays for discussion, and great suggestions for teachers K-12.
Teacher’s Domain
Provides K-12 multimedia teaching resources in the sciences and social sciences.
Teachers First
Provides links to lessons and resources for all school levels and subjects. It is a professional classroom and site resource for all school levels and subjects. This site’s stated objective is to meet the needs of teachers and provide links to lessons and resources.
U.S. Department of Education
Provides links for opportunities, student financial assistance, research and statistics, news and events.
The University of Kentucky
Provides teacher certification information for all 50 states.
Web English Teacher
This site is rich with ideas for beginning and experienced teachers. Here, educators can benefit from the work of others. A vast amount of links are provided in areas such as literature, poetry, mythology, reading, writing and study guides.


Adelphi University | 1 South Ave | P.O. Box 701 | Garden City, NY 11530-0701 | 1-800-ADELPHI (233-5744)