RESEARCH BY SUBJECT - CRIMINAL JUSTICE

Internet Resources:

- Megasites and Gateways
- Statistics

Megasites and Gateways
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
The NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. This database contains summaries of more than 180,000 criminal justice publications.

Dr. Frank Schmalleger's Cybrary of Criminal Justice Links: Prentice Hall's Cybrary: World's Largest Criminal Justice Directory
Dr. Frank Schmalleger's, a sociologist and leading author on Criminal Justice has compiled a comprehensive subject listing of topics related to criminal justice available on the World Wide Web. Each category provides an annotated list of relevant sites and a search box allows keyword searching as well.

Criminal Justice Resources MSU Libraries
Jon Harrison, Criminal Justice Specialist, Social Sciences Collections Coordinator, at Michigan State University Libraries provides a comprehensive site of 70 topics offering a wealth of information for students faculty and the practitioner. Check out ‘Background Reading’ for sources that provide overviews and background information on a variety of topics and ‘bibliographies’ for online sources to kick start your research.

Megalinks in Criminal Justice
Another good site for information on variety of topics. Professor O’Connor provides additional valuable resources here for students besides links. Under each of his course listings are his lecture notes which offer reliable authoritative in depth information on topics discussed including bibliographies and relevant weblinks. Course notes cover a variety of topics relevant to courses in criminal justice.

Criminal Justice: University at Albany University of New York
An excellent site for major topics in criminal justice and particularly for state and local links.

Altus Global Alliance
Altus unites six well-established organizations and more than 200 professionals working in different languages, cultures, and legal traditions into a uniquely powerful global alliance for justice. Altus offers a truly global perspective on issues of safety and justice, a greater capacity to work across borders, and a larger role for civil society in advancing justice .

Statistics
ATF Online
Statistics compiled by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Areas covered include crime, victims, law enforcement, federal justice system, courts, sentencing and special topics.

Corrections.com

Department of Justice

Juvenile Justice Facts & Statistics
Provides access to the "latest facts and figures on juvenile justice, delinquency prevention, and violence and victimization."  From the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention.

Jeuvenile Info Network

Monitoring the Future
This is an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults. Each year, a total of some 50,000 8 th, 10 th and 112 th grade students are surveyed (12 th graders since 1975, and 8 th and 10 th graders since 1991.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Access a wealth of information relating to corrections, crime, prevention, criminal justice, juvenile justice, statistics and much more.

Office of Jeuvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention

Social Issues & Social Services
Developed by librarians for the Michigan Electric Library, this site contains 38 subject headings and related links to topics on a variety of interests including crime.

Uniform Crime Reports of the U.S. (Federal Bureau of Investigation)

White House Statistics Briefing Room: Crime
Identifies major crime reports, provides charts, brief statistics and redirects to the actual report.



Adelphi University | 1 South Ave | P.O. Box 701 | Garden City, NY 11530-0701 | 1-800-ADELPHI (233-5744)