RESEARCH BY SUBJECT - ANTHROPOLOGY

Internet Resources:

American Anthropological Association
Links to the AAA Resource Center, which is an "online guide to the anthropological community".
American Folklife Center: Ethnographic Studies
Library of Congress page provides links to anthropology, ethnomusicology, folklore, folklife resources sites, journals, grant information, and to archives and archival collections.
Anthropology Exhibits on the WWW
The Centre for Social Anthropology and Computing offers a number of enticing exhibits ranging in content from Egyptian Artifacts to the Dead Sea Scrolls to Los Angeles.
Anthropology: The World-Wide Web Virtual Library
Taking a broad view of the field, this virtual library covers applied,
linguistic, bio-physical (including forensic), cultural anthropology and more. Dozens of resources organized by specialization, institution or general interest with listings of journals, job opportunities, listservs, etc. A very large site, with over 9,000 listings.
Anthro.net
Anthro.net is a search engine that contains thousands of reviewed web sites and bibliographic references for anthropology, archaeology, history, linguistics, psychology, sociology and other social sciences.

In addition, the site features a 53-item table of contents to selected topics that offer "recommended readings" and listings of annotated Websites. A "What's New" section also provides a listing of recent additions to the database.
Anthropology Outreach Office, Smithsonian Institution
The Smithsonian Institution's Anthropology Outreach Office presents:

  • Leaflets on the study of anthropology
  • Issues from 1996 to present of Anthronotes, a publication for anthropology educators
  • Bibliographies and leaflets on Native American archaeology, culture, language, foods, etc.
  • A Critical Bibliography on North American Indians, for K-12. This annotated bibliography "describes over 800 books with sections organized by culture area and tribe and further divided into non-fiction and fiction, biographies, and traditional stories."
  • List of summer fieldwork opportunities
Anthropology Resources on the Internet (AAA)
Hot list of large, up-to-date sites with links to anthropology resources on the Internet seen by the AAA as good places to begin investigating anthropological materials available on the Internet.
Anthropology in the News
Full text articles from major archival newspapers and journals on anthropology, archaeology, social/cultural elements and linguistics.
Anthrosource
A complete electronic archive of all AAA journals.
Seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications including American Anthropologist (for AAA members and subscribing institutions). Current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications. AnthroSource is a fully integrated information resource. Its powerful search engine makes precision research quick and easy.
ARD: The Anthropology Review Database
"ARD is an ever-growing, free, and fully searchable database of reviews covering the entire gamut of anthropological publications, including books, audiovisual materials, software & multimedia, exhibits, tourist sites, conferences, and on-line resources...Currently the database contains the signed, refereed reviews we publish ourselves, as well as links to those published in a number of online publications and sites. (We plan to gradually add bibliographic data from the flagship anthropological print periodicals.)"
Galaxy: Anthropology
A large index of resources on Anthropology including:

  • Collections
  • Directories
  • Academic Organizations
Institute of Social and Cultural Anthropology (Oxford)
Provides information on the Institute as well as links to electronic journals and other Internet resources.
Maxwell Museum of Anthropology
The Maxwell Museum of Anthropology , University of New Mexico, holds over 10 million individual items in its archaeological , ethnological , archival, photo and skeletal collections. The collections come from all parts of the world, but have a Southwestern emphasis.
Native Web
Resources of Indigenous Cultures Around the World.  Provides links to an extensive list of resources about  indigenous peoples.
Resources for the Anthropological Study of Food Habits
World food habits bibliography.
Society for American Archaeology
Links to tables of contents and article summaries for its journals American Antiquity and Latin American Antiquity, as well as the Society newsletter and bulletin.   Click on EDUCATION, then TEACHING ARCHAEOLOGY IN THE 21ST CENTURY  for links to the home pages of other professional associations.
WWW Virtual Library of Archaeology
Provides access to archaeological resources available on the Internet, categorized by geographical region and subject.


Adelphi University | 1 South Ave | P.O. Box 701 | Garden City, NY 11530-0701 | 1-800-ADELPHI (233-5744)