|
COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT
POLICIES
Here is a selected list of collection development policies that can assist you in preparing one of your own. Written policy statements generally include all or some of the following elements:
Philosophy - describes the library's basic theory or viewpoint regarding collection development.
Statement of need - Gives the purpose of the written policy
Goals - States the goals of the collection.
Objectives - States the objectives of the collection
Degrees and programs - Lists and describes the degrees and certificates offerred.
Collection levels - Describes the levels of collecting from basic through research for various areas of the curriculum.
Selection policy - Lists the types of materials to be collected in various formats.
Selection criteria -
States the criteria and describes the methods used for selection of materials in all formats.
Selection responsibility - States the position(s) of the person(s) responsible for selection.
Approval plans - Lists any approval plans used.
Gifts - Describes the library's policy on acceptance and dissemination of gifts
Consortia - Describes the library's involvement in consortia or other cooperative arrangements with other libraries.
Collection management - Describes the criteria and procedures for weeding and preservation.
Auburn University at Montgomery http://aumnicat.aum.edu/colldev/nursing.html
Dalton State College, Georgia http://www.daltonstate.edu/library/policy/nursing_pol.htm
Indiana University Bloomington
http://www.libraries.iub.edu/index.php?pageId=2635
Northern Illinois University
http://www.ulib.niu.edu/aboutus/cdpolnursing.cfm
Northern Michigan University
http://library.nmu.edu/about/policies/collect_nurse.htm
Michigan State University
http://academics.utep.edu/Default.aspx?tabid=28617
University of Connecticut Libraries
http://www.lib.uconn.edu/about/policies/collections/nursing.htm
University of Texas at Austin
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/admin/cird/policies/subjects/nursing.html
|
|
|
|
CORE LISTS
The following core lists
are prepared by librarians and designed to assist in the selection of resources that form the foundation of a particular area of a collection.
Doody's Core Titles in
the Health Sciences
http://www.doody.com/dct/ A
subscription resource, this list is for book selection only and Nursing is
one of the specialties covered.
Essential Nursing
Resources
http://nln.allenpress.com/pdfserv/i1536-5026-028-05-0276.pdf This
biennial list compiled by the Interagency Council on Information Resources
for Nursing includes print, multimedia and electronic resources.
Selected List of Nursing Books and Journals
http://www.mssm.edu/library/brandon-hill/nursing/index.shtml The
Brandon /Hill List for Nursing, which has been discontinued, was the
foremost core list in nursing and contained both book and journal titles
with suggestions for initial purchase. The last list was published in
2002.
|
|
|
|
REVIEWS
Librarians with limited budgets often rely on reviews to determine what titles to select for purchase.
Book of the Year Awards (
American Journal of Nursing)
http://www.ajnonline.com/ Available
by subscription, the January issue of the American Journal of Nursing
lists and reviews the best texts of the previous year.
Choice Reviews Online
http://www.cro2.org/
Published by the
Association of College and Research Libraries, this is the electronic
version of the print journal, CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic
Libraries. Both versions provide reviews of books and electronic resources
in all disciplines.
Doody's Electronic Journal
http://www.doody.com/drs/ This
subscription service for health, nursing, and medical professionals
provides a weekly e-mail bulletin containing reviews of new books from
categories preselected by the subscriber.
Educational
Media Reviews Online http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/emro/search.html "A
database of reviews of video, audio and computer programs from major
educational and documentary distributors." |
|
|
|
PUBLISHERS/BOOKSELLERS/VENDORS
Many of these sites include a catalog of available titles. Some can be searched by subject or topic.
Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com/ Online
bookstore.
American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
http://www.appi.org/ Publisher
of books, journals, and multimedia on psychiatry, mental health and
behavioral science.
Aspen Publishers http://www.aspenpublishers.com/ Publisher
of books on health law and administration.
Barnes
& Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/ Online
bookstore.
Blackwell Publishing http://www.blackwellpublishing.com/ Publisher
of academic and professional books and journals on nursing, medicine, and
allied health. The nursing subcategories include health and social care,
mental health nursing, midwifery, and nutrition. Partners with many
nursing organizations and societies in the publication of their journals.
Churchill-Livingstone see Elsevier
Delmar see Thomson Delmar Learning
Elsevier http://www.elsevier.com/ Major
publisher of nursing and health sciences books, journals, and electronic
resources. Imprints include Saunders, Mosby, Churchill Livingstone,
Butterworth-Heinemann and Hanley & Belfus
F.A. Davis
Company http://www.fadavis.com/about_us/index.cfm Publisher
of texts and professional books and electronic resources in health,
nursing, and medicine.
Greenwood Publishing
http://www.greenwood.com/ Publisher
of academic, and professional books. The Health/Medicine category includes
books on aids, alternative healing, healthcare administration, general
health, nursing, nutrition and public haleth.
Haworth
Press, Inc. http://www.haworthpressinc.com/ Publisher
of academic and professional books and journals including nursing related
titles.
Jessica Kingsley Publishers http://www.jkp.com/ Publisher of
academic and professional books in the social and behavioral sciences.
Health topics include bereavement and palliative care, eating disorders,
dementia, and others.
Jones and Bartlett Publishers http://www.jbpub.com/ Publisher of
academic and professional books, multimedia, and online resources in
nursing and other health fields including allied health, emergency medical
services, health administration, health sciences and nutrition, medicine,
and public health. Website includes a separate nursing
section.
Jossey-Bass http://www.josseybass.com/WileyCDA/ Publishes
books on consimer health, public health, health administration, gynecology
and obstetrics, and other nursing related
topics.
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins http://www.lww.com/nursing/ Major
publisher of academic and professional nursing books, journals, and
electronic resources. Website includes the "Nursing Store" with separate
sections for practicing nurses, advanced practice nurses, nursing faculty,
and nursing students.
Login Brothers, Canada http://lb.ca/ Major distributor of nursing and
other health sciences and scientific/technical books and electronic
products. Can search by nursing categories. Doody's star ratings are
indicated when available.
Matthews Book Company
http://www.matthewsbooks.com/default.aspx Distributor
of nursing and other health science books and electronic media. Can do
advanced search and results indicate Doody star rating.
McGraw Hill http://books.mcgraw-hill.com/cgi-bin/pbg/medical-home.html Publisher
of professional nursing, health, and medical
books.
Mosby see Elsevier
Oxford
University Press http://www.oup.com/us/?view=usa
Publisher of scholarly and professional books in a variety of
disciplines. Subcategories under medicine include nursing and other
related topics.
Prentice-Hall http://vig.prenhall.com/ Publisher
of a wide range of academic and professional nursing
books
Rittenhouse Book Distributors http://rittenhouse.com/ Major
distributor of nursing and other health and medical books, videos, and
electronic media. Can search by categories and can do advanced searching..
Sage Publications http://www.sagepub.com/ Publisher of
academic and professional books, journals, and electronic resources.
Subject categories include health sciences and research with a selection
of nursing and related titles.
Saunders see
Elsevier
Springer Publishing Company http://springerpub.com/index.html Publisher
of academic and scholaraly books and journals in nursing, psychology,
gerontology & geriatrics, long-term care, social work, counseling,
public health, rehabilitation, and medical
education.
Taylor & Francis Group http://www.taylorandfrancisgroup.com/ Publisher
of academic and professional books and journals including a small
selection of nursing titles.
Thomson Delmar
Learning http://www.delmarhealthcare.com/ Publishers
of academic and professional books, software, and other learning
materials.
W.B. Saunders see Elsevier
Wiley Publishers http://www.wiley.com/ Publisher of
nursing related academic and professional print and electronic products.
|
|
|
|
MEDIA PRODUCERS / DISTRIBUTORS
These sites will help you to locate videos and software on a variety of nursing and related topics.
Aquarius Health Care Videos http://www.aquariusproductions.com/ Producers
of videos on various health related topics such as aging/gerontology,
disease and healing, and mental health.
Cine-Med
http://www.cine-med.com/ Producer
of educational videos for physicians and other healthcare professionals.
Categories include perioperative nursing, research, and patient safety.
Coastal Health Training http://www.coastalhealth.com/ Producer
of non-clinical training videos and software on a variety of health care
issues such as emergency preparedness, diversity in health care, and
ambulatory care.
College of DuPage Office of Special
Services http://www.cod.edu/software/nursing.htm Producer
of computer assisted instruction for nursing students and the healthcare
professions.
Concept Media http://www.conceptmedia.com/
Producer and distributor of videos and cd-roms with an emphasis on
nursing and allied health.
CRM Films
http://www.crmlearning.com/
Producer of non-clinical training videos on a variety of topics
including patient diversity and communication in
healthcare.
Educational Video Network https://www.evndirect.com/
Producer of educational videos on a variety of health
topics.
Fanlight Productions http://www.fanlight.com/ Distributor
of videos on a variety of nursing and other health related
topics.
Films for the Humanities and Sciences
http://www.films.com/ Producer
and distributor of videos including health and wellness topics related to
nursing.
Insight Media http://www.insight-media.com/ Distributors
of of videocassettes, CD-ROMs, and DVDs on nursing and allied
health
RAmEx Ars Medica, Inc http://www.ramex.com/index.asp
Distributor of videos and software for professionals in
nursing, medicine, and allied health..
Rittenhouse Book Distributors http://rittenhouse.com/ Major
distributor of nursing and other health and medical books, videos, and
electronic media. Can search by categories and can do advanced searching..
Terra Nova Films
http://www.terranova.org/
Producer and distributer of videos concerning aging including healthy aging and caregiving.
TrainingABC
http://www.trainingabc.com/
Producers
and distributors of a variety of nursing realted training videos. Subjects
include diversity, conflict resolution, communication in healthcare, and
many others.
|
|
|
|
ASSOCIATIONS/ORGANIZATIONS
These
organizations and associations publish one or more journals and/or other
nursing resources.
American Academy of Nurse
Practitioners http://www.aanp.org/default.asp
American
Association for the History of Nursing http://www.aahn.org/
American
Association of Colleges of Nursing http://www.aacn.nche.edu/
American Association of Critical Care Nurses http://www.aacn.org/
American Nurses Association http://nursingworld.org/
American
Organization of Nurse Executives http://www.hospitalconnect.com/aone/about/home.html
American Public Health Association http://www.apha.org/
Association
of Operating Room Nurses http://www.aorn.org/
Emergency
Nurses Association http://www.ena.org/
HRSA Information Center - U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services
http://www.ask.hrsa.gov/
Offers free professional and consumer publications on a variety of health topics.
International
Society of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurses (ISPN)
http://www.ispn-psych.org/html/serpn.html
National
Association of School Nurses http://www.nasn.org/
National
Black Nurses Association http://www.nbna.org/
National
Council of State Boards of Nursing
https://www.ncsbn.org/resources.htm
National League for Nursing http://www.nln.org/
National
Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties http://www.nonpf.com/
North American Nursing Diagnosis Association
http://www.nanda.org/
Oncology Nursing Society http://ons.org/publications/
Sigma Theta Tau International http://www.stti.org/VirginiaHendersonLibrary/
Society
of Pediatric Nurses http://www.pedsnurses.org/
Transcultural Nursing Society http://www.tcns.org/ |
|
|
|
LIBRARY CATALOGS
It is possible to use other libraries' catalogs for identification, selection, and verification of nursing materials. You can search another library's catalog to identify titles in a particular subject area or classification, to identify new editions or new volumes in a series for selection purposes, to identify strengths and weaknesses for the collection for evaluation, and to verify bibliographic citations and holdings.
Adelphi University http://alicat.adelphi.edu/ Programs:
Undergraduate, master's, post-master's
Barry
University http://bulib.barry.edu/
Programs: Master's, post-master's certificates,
doctoral
Emory University http://web.library.emory.edu/ Undergraduate,
graduate, post-graduate certificates, doctoral
Georgetown
University http://gulib.lausun.georgetown.edu/ Programs:
Undergraduate, master's, post-master's certificate
Indiana University Libraries, Bloomington
http://www.iucat.iu.edu/
Programs: Undergraduate
Johns
Hopkins University http://www.welch.jhu.edu/about/nirc.html Programs:
Undergraduate, master's, MSN/MBA, post-master's certificates,
doctoral
New York University http://library.nyu.edu/ Programs:
Undergraduate, master's, post-master's, doctoral
Quinnipiac
University http://www.quinnipiac.edu/x897.xml Programs:
Undergraduate, master's, post-master's
certificate
University of Illinois at
Chicago http://www.uic.edu/depts/lib/lhsc/ Undergraduate,
master's, post-master's certificate, MS/MBA, doctoral,
University of Miami http://www.library.miami.edu/Richterlibrary.html Programs:
Undergraduate, master's, doctoral
University of Michigan
http://www.lib.umich.edu/ Programs:
Undergraduate, master's, post-master's certificate, MS/MBA, doctoral,
University of Texas at Austin
http://catalog.lib.utexas.edu
Programs:
Undergraduate, master's, doctoral, post-doctoral
University
of Washington http://catalog.lib.washington.edu/search~/ Programs:
Undergraduate, master's, doctoral
Yale University http://www.library.yale.edu/ Programs:
Master's, post-master's certificate, MSN/MBA, doctoral, |
|
|
|
DATABASES
Databases will help you to identify
current and retrospective nursing materials.
BooksInPrint.com
http://www.booksinprint.com/bip/
A
comprehensive subscription database of book, audio, and video titles that
includes selected reviews and awards.
NICEM Film &
Video Finder Online http://www.nicem.com/index.html A
subscription audiovisual database of educational media in all formats.
Cinahl
http://www.ebscohost.com/cinahl/
A significant
number of books are indexed. Searches can be limited to the document type,
book. Other indexed resources include dissertations, conference proceedings, software, and audiovisual materials. |
|
|
| LISTSERVS/FORUMS
E-mail discussion groups and forums can be useful for identifying and reviewing new resources, getting recommendations for best titles on a particular topic, for comparing resources, for keeping up-to-date with collection activities, and for networking with other librarians or subject specialists.
Collection Development
(COLLDV-L) http://www.infomotions.com/serials/colldv-l This
is a moderated disussion list for those involved with library collection
development including publishers and vendors.To subscribe, send an e-mail
message to: COLLDV-L@USC.EDU In the body of the message (not the
subject line) write only:: SUBSCRIBE COLLDV-L Yourfirstname
Yourlastname
GlobalRN http://nurseweb.ucsf.edu/www/globalin.htm Formerly
CULTURE AND NURSING, this listserv is sponsored by the School of
Nursing, University of California, San Francisco and is for nurses and
other healthcare professionals interested in topics related to culture
and health. To subscribe, send an e-mail message
to: LISTSERV@LISTSERVE.UCSF.EDU. In the body of the message (not the
subject line), write only: SUBSCRIBE GLOBALRN Yourfirstname
Yourlastname.
Medical
Librarians
(MEDLIB-L)
http://www.mlanet.org/discussion/medlibl.html
Shares
information by and for medical librarians and other interested
professionals. To subscribe send e-mail message
to: LISTSERV@LISTSERV.ACSU.BUFFALO.EDU In the body of the message
(not the subject line), write only SUBSCRIBE MEDLIB-L Yourfirstname
Yourlastname
NAHRS Discussion List
http://nahrs.mlanet.org/activity/discussion_list.html A discussion forum for members of the Nursing and Allied Health
Resources Section of the Medical Library Association..
NP
Clinical http://lists.nurse.net/mailman/listinfo/NP-Clinical This
is an online discussion group for Nurse Practitioners focusing on clinical
topics.
NP Info http://lists.nurse.net/mailman/listinfo/NPInfo This
is an online discussion group for Nurse Practitioners focusing primarily
on non-clinical issues.
Nursing History
(NURHIS-L) http://listserv.uconn.edu/nurhis-l.html A
list for those interested in the history of nursing. To subscribe, send
an e-mail message to: LISTSERV@LISTSERV.UCONN.EDU In the body of the
message, (not the subject line), write only SUBSCRIBE NURHIS-L
Yourfirstname Yourlastname
Nursing Informatics (NRSING
L) http://mailman.amia.org/mailman/listinfo/nrsing-l This
list is for discussion of nursing and healthcare informatics,
computer-assisted learning, and various other nursing and healthcare
related topics. To subscribe, send an e-mail message
to: LISTSERV@LIBRARY.UMMED.EDU In the body of the message (not the
subject line), write only: SUBSCRIBE NRSING L Yourfirstname
Yourlastname
Nursing Issues (NURSENET) http://www.graduateresearch.com/NurseNet/ This
is an open, unmoderated, global electronic conference for discussing
diverse issues in nursing administration, education, practice, and
research. To subscribe, send an e-mail message
to: listserv@listserv.arizona.edu In the body of the message (not
the subject line), write only: SUBSCRIBE NURSENET Yourfirstname
Yourlastname
Nursing Research (NurseRes) http://listserv.kent.edu/archives/nurseres.html This
list focuses on nursing research for novice and experienced researchers as
well as students. It welcomes questions, contributions, and discussion on
any aspect of research or clinical practice. To subscribe, send an
e-mail message to: LISTSERV@LISTSERV.KENT.EDU In the body of the
message (not the subject line), write only: SUBSCRIBE NURSERES
Yourfirstname Yourlastname
VideoLib
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/MRC/vrtlists.html
Topics of discussion include issues related to the evaluation, selection, and acquisition
of videos.
Videonews http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/MRC/vrtlists.html
This list includes discussion related to the selection, acquisition, and preservation of videos in the nonprofit sector. |
|
|
|
Compiled by Linda Weinberg, Assistant Professor and Library Liaison to the School of Nursing, Adelphi University, Garden City, New York 11530. Please contact me with corrections or updates at lweinberg@adelphi.edu
Last updated 11/5/08
|