---
library students in labLibraries of Adelphi___

Overview

Help & How To's

Services & Policies

University Archives &
Special Collections


Hours & Locations

Contacts & Directories

About the Adelphi Libraries

Research Guides and Help| Reference Tools


Dictionaries

The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
The unabridged American Heritage Dictionary, Third Edition, Houghton Mifflin Company, 1996. Examples of use, usage notes, etymologies and pronunciation.
Cambridge Dictionaries Online
Search the Cambridge International Dictionary of English, Cambridge Dictionary of American English, Cambridge International Dictionary of Idioms and Cambridge International Dictionary of Phrasal Verbs.
Dictionary.com
Includes computer and internet terms, acronyms and abbreviations, US cities and zip codes.

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
Part of the WWWebster Dictionary and Thesaurus site. The dictionary is based on Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Tenth Edition. It includes the Abbreviations, Foreign Words and Phrases, Biographical Names, and Geographical Names sections, plus 1,000 illustrations and 25 tables. Includes an audio feature.

OneLook Dictionaries
Search and compare definitions from 626 dictionaries and glossaries.

Oxford-English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet. The Second Edition of the OED is currently available as a 20-volume print edition as well as online.

your dictionary.com
Previously A Web of On-line Dictionaries. A comprehensive portal for dictionaries (including foreign language, multilingual and translating sources), glossaries, thesauri, grammars and vocabulary aids.



Contact
For additional information, please contact:

Adelphi University Library
Reference Desk
Adelphi University
P.O. BOX 701
Garden City, NY 11530-0701

p - 516.877.3574

Back to Top of Page