NURSING
RESEARCH AND RESOURCES
IN THE ADELPHI UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES
Contacts:
Professor Linda Weinberg, Library Liaison
to the School of Nursing - 516-877-3526
Reference Desk - 2nd Floor Swirbul Library - 516-877-3574
Manhattan Center Library - 212-965-8379
Introduction
The Adelphi Libraries contain a wealth of information that
you can use for your nursing research. Information resources for nursing
are available in print and electronic format and include books, journals, government
documents, videos, microfilm and microfiche, electronic research databases,
and internet sites. Whether you are on campus in Garden City or Manhattan, or
working from home or other remote site, the libraries' electronic resources
are availble to you. Additionally, you will find links to many other nursing
resources outside the university.
Library
Home Page
Everything you need to know about the library can be found on the Library
Home Page. Click on the home page customized view that applies to you (students,
faculty, or alumni.)
Do a quick search in the online catalog; find books, journal articles
and more; find out about library services and policies;
find research guides and help;
find library contacts and directories;
and much more.
ALICAT
Alicat is the
Adelphi Libraries online catalog and lists all
resources owned by the library. Each individual resource (e.g.. book, journal,
video, etc.) has it's own unique record in Alicat. Guides to the location of
library materials are posted throughout the library. Additionally, a Swirbul
library map can be
found on the Alicat main menu.
The circulating collection contains books and videos that can be checked out. Nursing and other health and medical books in Swirbul Library will be found on Level S. Nursing resources are shelved by call number in the R classification.
Oversize books are shelved in the "Folio" stacks on the 2nd floor and have the location "Folio" in Alicat.
Videos are shelved in Access Services on the first floor of Swirbul Library.
Some new books are temporarily shelved in the Lovely Lounge on the first floor.
You may place a hold on items in Alicat that show a due date. If the book or other item you want is checked out, you may place a hold electronically. (This is only for materials owned by the Adelphi libraries). With the full record displayed in Alicat, click Request Hold and follow the instructions.
Many borrowed items can be renewed online in Alicat by going to "My Library Record."
WorldCat
You can search in WorldCat for books, journals, nonprint, and other materials
owned by libraries worldwide. (Click on the WorldCat link on the Alicat
main menu screen or in the databases
by name list
Connect NY
Connect NY is a consortium of libraries in New York State with reciprocal borrowing
privileges. If the Adelphi Libraries do not own the book
you need or if the book is checked out, you may borrow it from another Connect
NY library that owns it..With the Alicat search results displayed, click on
the Connect NY icon.
Books and Articles
on Reserve
To find out what materials are on Reserve for your course, go to
the Library Home Page, click on Alicat and then Course Reserves. Search by your
Professor's name or the course discipline or number. Swirbul Reserve materials
are shelved in Access Services (1st Floor) and may only be used in the library.
Some articles on reserve are available electronically. Heavily used books such
as some NCLEX-RN titles may also be kept on Reserve.
Reference
Collection
The reference collection on the 2nd
floor and Level C in Swirbul Library consists of books that may only be used
in the library. The libraries also provide online access to selected reference
resources. The Manhattan Center also houses reference books. Some examples of
reference resources are:
Diagnoses and Treatments:
Merck manual of diagnosis and therapy
Ref. RC55 .M4
Mosby's guide to nursing diagnosis
Reference RT48.6 .L33 2008
Manhattan reference RT48.6 .L33 2008
Directories:
Medical and health information directory
Reference R118.4.U6 M4
Drug Guides:
Springhouse nurse's drug guide
Reference RM301.12 .S737
Manhattan Reference RM301.12 .S737
Encyclopedias/Dictionaries:
Encyclopedia of Social Work
(online access)
Gale encyclopedia of nursing & allied health
Ref. RT21 .G353 2006
Stedman's medical dictionary for the health professions and nursing
Reference R121 .S8 2008
Manhattan reference R121 .S8 2008
Health Statistics:
Vital statistics of the United States : births, life expectancy, deaths and selected health data
Reference HA203 .V587
Grants:
The Foundation directory
Reference AS911.A2 F65
Miscellaneous:
Introduction to Reference Sources in the Health Sciences
2004 (4th ed.) shelved in Ref. R118.6 .I57 2004
Style Manuals:
APA style guide to electronic references
Reference PN171.F56 A63 2007
Manhattan Reference PN171.F56 A63 2007
Government
Publications
Government publications are invaluable
sources of information for nursing research. Some examples are:
Policy
Healthy people 2010
Sudoc # - HE 20.2:P 39/3/V.1-2/2000
Demographic data
Measuring America : the decennial censuses from 1790 to 2000
Sudoc # - C 3.2:M 46/2
U.S. Census Bureau. American FactFinder
NCLEX
Students preparing for
the NCLEX RN exam will find over 65 books and other materials to help them in
the university libraries. Most are housed in Swirbul and some are in the Manhattan
Center. To find these items, search by KEYWORD "nclex" in Alicat.
Some examples are:
Mosby's comprehensive review of nursing for the NCLEX-RN examination
Swirbul Reserve RT55 .M64 2009
Lippincott's content review for NCLEX-RN
Swirbul Reserve RT55 .B548 2009
NCLEX-RN for dummies
Swirbul RT55 .C66 2006
Manhattan Reserve RT55 .C66 2006
NCLEX review : strategies and skills
Swirbul RT55 .D53 2009NCLEX-RN : strategies for the registered nursing licensing exam
Swirbul Reserve RT55 .I78 2009
Complete review CD-ROM for NCLEX-RN
Nonprint CD-ROM RT55 .G37 2007
Registered nurse adult medical-surgical review module
Manhattan Reserve RT55 .C657 2007 pt.1
Manhattan DVD RT55 .C657 2007 pt.1
Nursing
Video Collection
The libraries have an extensive nursing video collection
that includes nursing skills videos as well as many other aspects of nursing
and health. You can view the entire collection in Alicat by searching for the
subject:
nursing videos
Videos are shelved in Access Services on the first floor of Swirbul Library.
Databases
Nursing Databases:
The following are the primary nursing databases that you can access
through the Adelphi Libraries:
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) indexes virtually all English-language nursing journals, with full text for more than 560 journals and 220 books, and searchable cited references from 1994- and full-text articles dating back to 1937. The libraries subscribe to the Ebscohost version of CINAHL Plus with Full Text.
Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based health care resources
Nursing and Allied Health contains over 4 million articles from over 1,000 journals with a heavy emphasis on full text articles from Cinahl.
Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition provides scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines with a strong concentration in nursing. .
Medline indexes nursing and biomedical journals and is the largest component of PubMed. The library has several different versions in the list of databases. Medline with Full Text has articles dating back to 1965.
PubMed is the database of the National Library of Medicine and, in addition to Medline, includes both older and more current citations and abstracts from nursing and biomedical journals.
Other Databases:
As nursing topics may be interdisciplinary, you may want to search
additional databases for your research. The libraries subscribe to both general
and subject specific databases. Some examples are:
Academic Search Premier (General)
ERIC (Education)
Proquest Research Library Collection (General)Psychinfo (Psychology)
Sociological Abstracts (Social Sciences)
Evidence
Based Practice
Evidence based practice (EBP) uses the evidence from clinical research
as the basis for clinical decision-making. The steps involved in EBP include:
1. Identifying a clinical problem.
2. Searching the literature for research that provides evidence regarding the clinical problem.
3. Evaluating the scientific merit of the research based on established criteria.
4. Implementing clinical decisions based on the evidence found.
Qualitative and Quantitative Research:
You can find evidence for clinical decision making in quantitative
and qualitative research studies. The findings in quantitative studies are measurable
and based on statistical analysis. The findings in qualitative studies are not
based on measurable statistics but rather on data such as that gathered from
participants through interviews and observation. The analysis of qualitative
research is "interpretative, subjective, impressionistic and diagnostic"
(http://www.mrs.org.uk/mrindustry/glossary.htm).
Try this tutorial for help in Searching for
Qualitative & Quantitative Research Articles Using the CINAHL Database
Information about research methodology can be found in Alicat by searching for the Subject Nursing Research Methodology.
PICO Questions:
To find evidence based research articles and to answer clinical questions
in the PICO format (Population, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome) you
can use the following limiters:
In CINAHL (Advanced Search):
Limit to Evidence-Based Practice
Limit to Publication Type - Systematic Review
Limit to Special Interest EBP
Limit to Clinical Queries
Search CINAHL Headings for the terms Meta Analysis and Systematic Review
In Medline Full Text in Ebscohost (Advanced Search)
Limit to Clinical Queries
Limit to Publication Type Meta-AnalysisIn PubMed (Advanced Search)
Limit to Type of Article Meta-Analysis
Limit to Subsets Topics Systematic Reviews
Limit to Queries Clinical then Search by Clinical Study category and or Find Systematic Reviews
Journals
Journals are an important part of the collection.
In addition to the many print issues available in the libraries, there is online
access to hundreds of nursing, health and medical journals. In Swirbul Library,
some journal issues are available only on microfilm or microfiche. These are
reels or sheets of film on which print publications are reduced for storage.
Articles can be read and photcopies made on reader/printer machines. You can
search for specific journals by entering the
journal title or ISSN in the Find a
Journal search box on the Library Home Page. Alternatively,
click on Browse eJournals by title
or subject to find journals available online.
Scholarly journals publish articles written by scholars in the field. The articles
always include footnotes and or a reference list (bibliography) and are reviewed
by experts prior to publication.
Trade and professional journals publish articles written by professionals in the field or by journalists with knowledge of the subject. Some articles include sources of information and some of these journals are peer reviewed.
Identifying
Peer Reviewed Journals
The articles in scholarly journals go through a rigorous review process before
they are accepted for publication. Typically, an author submits a manuscript
to the editor of the journal. The editor reads the manuscript and decides if
it meets the criteria for publication in the journal. The editor then sends
copies of the manuscript to several scholar reviewers (or peer reviewers) for
their opinion. Generally, the reviewers do not know who authored the manuscript.
If they give a positive review, the manuscript is published as an article in
the journal.
Many databases allow you to limit your search to articles in peer reviewed or
refereed journals. You can also find out if a journal is peer reviewed by searching
for the journal title in the Ulrich’s
Web database. This database uses the term "refereed" to denote peer reviewed
journals. You can also look in v.5 of Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory,
which contains a section on Refereed Serials. You will find the latest edition
at the Reference Desk shelved under Ref Z6941.U5
Some peer reviewed nursing journals in the Adelphi Libraries are:
Applied Nursing Research
Computers, Informatics, Nursing: CIN
Journal of Nursing Administration
Journal of Professional Nursing
Nursing Forum
Nursing Administration Quarterly
Research in Nursing and Health
Western Journal of Nursing Research
Journal
Articles:
Search for journal articles in the electronic research databases.
Databases can be accessed on campus and most can be accessed from home or other
remote site. You will need to enter your name and 7 digit Adelphi ID at the
prompt. On the Library Home Page, you can:
1. Search for a specific database by selecting Browse Databases by Name
2. Search by subject by selecting Databases by Subject
3. Simultaneously search multiple databases by selecting Multi-Search
Use Citation
Linker to search for an article when you already have the citation from
elsewhere. Click on Citation
Linker on the Library Home Page and enter the citation information.
Finding
Full Text Articles in the Research Databases
Many
brief and detailed database search results will display the Article Linker icon.
Clicking on
and/or
"Locate Full Text" will open a screen that provides links to assist you
in retrieving the article. If the journal issue is available electronically,
there will be links to the database(s) where the article can be found. If it
is not available electronically, but the library owns the journal, there will
be a link to the Alicat record for the journal. There may be more than one record for the same title. Records for print journals will display the word “Serials” in the right column. Check the "Lib. Has"
field to determine if the library has the journal issue that you need. The journal
issue can then be found either in the Periodical stacks (1st floor) or on microfilm
or microfiche. Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk. If the article is not
available, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan.
APA
Style/Citations
You will be asked to use APA syle for your writing assignments. This dictates
the format of both in text citations and the citations in your reference list.
The 6th edition of the Publication
Manual of the American Psychological Association and the APA
Style Guide to Electronic References provide the information needed. Some
other helpful resources for citing articles in APA style can be found at Citing
Sources: Documentaion Guidelines for Citing Sources and Avoiding Plagiarism
and APA Formatting
and Style Guide. It is important to note that all entries in the Reference
List must have corresponding in text citations.
Citations consist of facts about a book, article, or other type of information
resource that identifies the resource and is needed to locate it, fill out an
Interlibrary loan form, and prepare an entry for a reference list or bibliography.
Each database entry includes the elements that make up a citation.
Example of a citation in the CINAHL database:
Medication error reduction and the use of PDA technology.Preview (includes abstract); Greenfield S; Journal of Nursing Education, 2007 Mar; 46 (3): 127-31 (journal article - case study, research, tables/charts) ISSN: 0148-4834 PMID: 17396552 CINAHL AN: 2009527704
An APA citation for an article in print with the journal in hand consists
of the following elements:
Authors name
Date (in parentheses)
Title of article
Title of journal (in italics)
Volume and issue numbers (in italics)
Pages
Example of an APA citation for an article in print with the journal in hand:
Greenfield., S. (2007). Medication error reduction and the use of PDA technology.
----- Journal of Nursing Education, 46 (3), 127-131.
An APA citation for an article retrieved from an electronic database consists
of the following elements:
Authors name
Date (in parentheses)
Title of article
Title of journal (in italics)
Volume and issue numbers (in italics)
Pages
DOI or URL of journal home page
Example of APA citation for an article retrieved from an electronic database:
Greenfield., S. (2007). Medication error reduction and the use of PDA technology. Journal of
----- Nursing Education, 46 (3), 127-131. Retrieved from http://www.journalofnursingeducation.com
In-Text Citations:
APA style requires that writers provide citations within the text of their writing
when they are quoting or referring to someone elses work. This is in addition
to the Reference list they must provide at the end of their paper, essay, or
article.
Example of an in-text citation:
In her research on PDA technology, Greenfield (2007) found that some medication errors can be reduced if nurses have PDAs to consult for information on medication administration
Interlibrary
Loan, etc.
If you can’t find the book, dissertation, or aticle that you need, we
can get it for you from another library. Simply fill out the Interlibrary
Loan request form online and you will be notified when to come and pick
up the item(s) you have requested. In special cases, you may be permitted to
go in person to another library and borrow books that the Adelphi Libraries
do not have. These libraries are members of Long Island Libraries Resources
Council's Research Loan Program that allows for reciprocal borrowing.
You must ask a Reference Librarian for a referral. For books, also see Connect
NY.
Health Statistics
see How
to Find Health Statistics on the Library Home Page
Internet
Resources by Topic
Links to Nursing
Internet Resources on the following topics are available under Research
by Subject: Nursing
- Advocacy
- Aging
- Aids/HIV
- Alternative Healing
- Cancer
- Careers/Employment/Licensing
- CINAHL
- Collection Development
- Consumer Health/Patient Education
- Diseases
- Drugs-Formulary, etc.
- Eating Disorders
- Evidence Based Medicine/Nursing
- Healing Arts
- Health: Miscellaneous
- Hospitals
- Informatics
- Information Literacy
- Journals
- Men's Health
- Nursing: Clinical
- Nursing: Miscellaneous
- Nursing Theory
- Nutrition
- Research
- State Nursing Boards
- Statistics
- Transcultural Nursing
- Women's Health
Capstone
and Master's Projects / Theses and Dissertations
The Library receives two copies of all master's and capstone projects and doctoral
dissertations authored by students in the School of Nursing. They are cataloged
and a record for each can be be found in Alicat. One copy is designated as archival
and is shelved in the University Archives located in New Dorm. Archival copies
are not available for circulation. The second copy is shelved in the Theses
stacks on C Level in Swirbul Library and is available to be checked out. (Some
older master's projects shelved on C Level and stamped "arvhival copy" may only
be used in the library. Dissertations from other institutions are shelved by
call number in the circulating stacks.
To find all Adelphi nursing theses and dissertations in Alicat, search by the
subject Nursing
Dissertations. You can also search for Adelphi theses and dissertations
in the Current
Research @ database, in which you can find abstracts from 1980 to the present,
and view 24 page previews and download the full text of theses and dissertations
published after 1996.
Search the Dissertations & Theses: Full Text database to find citations and abstracts for dissertations from
other universities.
Search for Dissertations in the CINAHL
database by limiting your search to Publication Type: Doctoral Dissertation
Plagiarism/Academic
Dishonesty
Plagiarism is one form of academic dishonesty. It is a violation
of the Adelphi University Code
of Academic Honesty and is an academic crime with serious consequences.
Using someone else’s words, expressions, ideas, or findings as your own
is one form of plagiarism. Many professors include a statement about plagiarism
in their syllabi. Make sure to read each syllabus so that you fully understand
your professor's requirements and restrictions regarding writing assignments.
Questions about understanding and preventing plagiarism can be directed to your
professor, the Reference Librarians, and the Writing Center. The following are
two of the many internet resources that can help you to avoid plagiarism: Plagiarism:
Its Nature and Consequences and Writing
a Research Paper: Plagiarism.
Tests
and Measures and Nursing/Research Instruments
This section was adapted from Johns
Hopkins University Library Guides - Psychology - Psych Tests
"The following shows you how to find information about tests and how to
find the tests themselves. Generally, the majority of commercially available
instruments must be purchased from publishers. Tests that are not commercially
available may be found in books, journal articles, printed reports, or available
from the author. Finding scales and measures often requires thorough searching
of print and electronic library resources. Use the links below to help you perform
those searches."
Finding Background Information: Note: call numbers refer to Swirbul
Library (Garden City Campus)
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Z5814.P8 B932 (covers yearbooks 1-15)
Ref Desk Z5814.P8 B932 (current volume 16)
"Contains reviews of tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. For each test, you can find the author, publisher, scoring information, and at least one review of the test."
Mental Measurements Yearbook Index (covers yearbooks 9 - 15)
A comprehensive index of tests reviewed in the Mental Measurements Yearbook series, from the 9th MMY (1985) to the present.Tests in microfiche. Annotated index. Princeton, NJ: Educational Testing Service, 1975-to date.
Index (1975-1987) at Ref Desk Microfiche Z5814 E9 E4
Tests in Print
Ref Desk Z58114.E9 T47
"Covers published and commercially available tests in psychology. Each entry consists of the test title, intended population, publication date, author, publisher, foreign adaptations, and references.".
Tests
Ref Desk BF176.T43
"Contains information on thousands of testing instruments in psychology, education, and business. For evaluative techniques or data on reliability, validity, or norms, please refer to Test Critiques (see below)."
Test Critiques
Ref Desk LB3051.T419
"Designed as a companion to Tests (BF176.T43). Test Critiques includes supplemental information such as psychometric information on reliability, validity, and norm development."
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures, v 1(1974) - v8(198)
Ref BF431.D624
These volumes supplement the Mental Measurements Yearbook.
Educational Testing Service Test Link
The Educational Testing Service provides information on more than 25,000 research instruments and standardized tests. Some foreign tests are included.
Tests and Measures and Nursing/Research Instruments cont.
Finding Instruments in Scholarly Literature Using Library
Databases:
"While many scholarly articles describe studies conducted with psychological
tests, they do not usually include the test itself. But you can still find a
lot of information about the tests in this literature. Enter the name of the
test to locate research articles in which the instrument was used. You can also
use the databases to locate instruments as well. Use the advance search screen
and enter your keyword term or concept: Example 'empathy' , 'coping' , 'domestic
violence' on the first search box provided. In the second line after the 'AND'
connector add several variations of the term to retrieve measurements using
'OR' in between each term on the same line: Example 'test' or 'survey' or 'questionnaire'
or 'scale' or 'instrument'."
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
"Covers 1985-present. Contains articles describing questionnaires, rating scales, index measures, scenarios, vignettes, observations, checklists, manuals, etc. Under 'Limit to,' select Primary Source or Secondary Source. Primary Source means the citation is the original source for the instrument. Secondary Source means the instrument was originally developed by another author or for another study. Use reliability and validity as keywords to locate instruments with tested psychometric properties."
PsychInfo
"Covers 1887-present. This database covers mainly journal articles (includes some books and other material) relevant to psychology, education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry. Start with a keyword search to find articles relating to a type of inventory and then combine it with a keyword search using the word appended. This will find instruments relating to a specific subject that are included in the article appendix."
PubMed
"Covers 1966-present. Contains citations from a broad array of biomedical journals. Useful MeSH (medical subject headings) include questionnaires, psychological tests, health status rating scales, psychiatric status rating scales, and personality inventory. In PubMed, not all instruments fall under MeSH headings, so try a keyword search such as pregnancy AND questionnaire. Other keywords to consider include inventories, scale measure, measurements, survey, and psychometrics."CINAHL
Covers 1937-present. CINAHL covers nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and consumer health journals. Any article reporting a research study that uses an instrument has the name of the instrument recorded in the Instrumentation field. In the search box, enter the instrument name and select IN Instrumentation from the drop-down box." You can also limit your search to Publication Type: Research Instrument..
ERIC
"Covers 1976-present. ERIC focuses on the U.S. education literature. Phrases to use in your search include: screening tests, diagnostic tests, disability identification, ability identification, and talent identification."
Tests and Measures and Nursing/Research
Instruments cont.
Finding Instruments in Books:
(In Alicat, search for the subject, "nursing research methodology.")
Assessing and measuring caring in nursing and health science.
RT42 .W38 2009
Communication Research Measures: A Sourcebook
P91.3 .C62 1994
"Part one gives an overview of the areas in the communication discipline which use quantitative measures. Part two contains descriptive summaries of 62 measures, including validity and reliability information. Most of the measures are also provided."
Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques, 3 vols.
Ref Desk HQ728.H267 2001
"Volume one contains abstracts describing 976 measures developed between 1929-1986. Volume two covers the period 1987-1996. Descriptions in these two volumes include reliability/validity information, references, sample items, and available from information. Areas covered include dimensions of family/marital interaction, intimacy and family values, parenthood, and roles and power. Volume three includes 168 selected examples of actual instruments described in the two volumes of abstracts. A subject index is also included in volume three."Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement
Ref. H62.M44 2002
See Part 6, "Selected Sociometric Scales and Indexes." Scales cover areas such as social status, group
Holistic nursing
RT42 .B53Instruments for clinical health-care research
RT81.5 .I57 2004Instruments for measuring nursing practice and other health care variables
Ref. RT73 .U56Instruments for use in nursing education research
RT73 .C53 1989The measurement of attitudes toward people with disabilities: methods, psychometrics, and scales.
HV 1553 A62 1988Measurement in Nursing and Health Research. 3rd ed. (Appendix A lists resources)
RT 81.5 .W36 2005The measurement of health: concepts and indicators.
RA 407 L37 1991Measurement of Nursing Outcomes
RT85.5 .M434 2001
A collection of tools that measure client outcomes, nursing performance, clinical skills, and client self-care and coping skills.
Measures of personality and social psychological attitudes.
BF 698.4 M38 1991
Measuring Health: A Guide to Rating Scales and Questionnaires
RA408.5 .M47 1996
"Includes reviews, descriptions, test properties, etc., for rating scales and questionnaires that cover topics such as physical disability, pain, psychological well-being, and quality of life".
Scales for the measurement of attitudes.
BF 378 A75 S45Self efficacy in nursing : research and measurement perspectives
RT42 .S435 2002Sex and gender issues: a handbook of tests and measures.
Ref. BF 692 B38 1990
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes
"Compiled by Helen Hough, Health Sciences Librarian at the University of Texas at Arlington, this is an index of full text measures in print monographs. Eighty sources are included and searchable by author or keyword. The tables-of-contents for the sources are also available." If the test is located in a printed source use ALICAT to see if Adelphi has a copy of the source.
Tests and Measures and Nursing/Research Instruments cont.
Finding Instruments on Internet Sites:
Guide to tests and measurements from University of Michigan, Taubman Medical Library
Instruments for measuring nursing practice and other health care variables
Nursing instruments and measurement from Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, Resources For Nurses
Nursing research guide from Rutgers University Library
Research Instruments Developed, Adapted or Used by the Stanford Patient Education Research Center.
Instruments are in English and Spanish for research subjects with chronic diseases. They are free and do not require permission to use.Research instruments in CINAHL from Mayo Clinic College of Medicine, Resources For Nurses
Sources for Nursing Research Instruments from San Diego State University Library
Super Sleuthing: Learning to Track Those Elusive Tests & Measurement Instruments from University of Michigan School of Public Health Library
How to find tests and Measures from University of Michigan School of Public Health Library
Information Literacy Tutorial (TILT) a basic tutorial for beginning students
Searching for Qualitative & Quantitative Research Articles Using the CINAHL Database a step by step interactive tutorial
Conducting a Literature Review in Education & Behavioral Sciences a multi module tutorial
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: A Crib Sheet a guide from Humboldt State University Library
PubMed Tutorial "Web-based learning program that will show you how to search PubMed®, the National Library of Medicine's (NLM®) journal literature search system."
The Cochrane Library Help a series of guides and tutorials on the Cochrane Library web site.
Prepared by Professor Linda Weinberg 05/09, updated 11/09