Community Resources Database of Long Island - Directory of health, human service, and education agencies and programs on Long Island services for children, teens, adults, families, and seniors in both Nassau and Suffolk counties.
National Heart, Blood, and Lung Institute - Asthma Statistics
http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/prof/lung/asthma/asthstat.htmNew York State Department of Health. County Health Indicator Profiles
http://www.health.state.ny.us/statistics/chip/index.htmState Health Facts.Org
http://www.statehealthfacts.kff.org/cgi-bin/healthfacts.cgiRates for (in terms of community disease burden and mortality)
Coronary heart disease
Stroke
Cirrhosis
Breast cancer
Lung cancer
Colorectal cancer
Cervical cancer
Prostate cancer
Asthma
Diabetes
Obesity
Addiction: smoking, alcohol, recreational drugs
Infectious disease indicators:
Tuberculosis
HIV
Syphilis
Gonorrhea
Chlamydia
Hepatitis A
Vaccine preventable illness: Measles, Mumps, Rubella, Pertussis
Search the websites below for:
Population by age and gender
Race / ethnicity distribution
Educational attainment
% of population over age 65, over age 85
Describe how the age distribution of the population differs from that of the State
American health : demographics and spending of health care consumers
RA445 .A447 2005U.S. Census Bureau - American FactFinder - Search for a community by zip code
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=en
MapStats - New York - Provides a profile of State, county, city, congressional district, or Federal judicial district,
http://www.fedstats.gov/qf/states/36000.htmlNew York State Community Profiles - search by name of community
http://www.epodunk.com/profiles/ny_a.html
Search the resources below to find statistics for:
Mortality rates
Leading causes of death
Average age of death
Availability of pre-hospital care services
Oral health (what ever you can find)
Maternal Child indicators:
Live births
Infant mortality
Low birth weight
Child death rate under 6 years
Teen pregnancy rate (10-14; 15-17)
Leading causes of mortality in children
Domestic abuse statistics
Mothers who smoke during pregnancy
Medicaid deliveries
American health : demographics and spending of health care consumers
RA445 .A447 2005Health care state rankings 2006: health care in the 50 United States
Ref. RA407.3 .H423 2006New York State Department of Health. County Health Indicator Profiles
http://www.health.state.ny.us/statistics/chip/index.htmNassau County Community Health Assessment
http://www.health.state.ny.us/nysdoh/chac/pdf/nassau.pdf
or
http://72.14.207.104/search?q=cache:zDegTQ-bUIEJ:www.health.state.ny.us/nysdoh/chac/pdf/nassau.pdf+nassau+county+hepatitis+A++incidence+by+zip+code&hl=enNassau County community health assessment. Update
Ref. RA407.4.N7 C66National Center for Injury Prevention and Control
http://webapp.cdc.gov/sasweb/ncipc/leadcaus10.html
State Health Facts.Org
http://www.statehealthfacts.kff.org/cgi-bin/healthfacts.cgi
Search the websites below to find statistics for:
Dependency indicators (smoking, alcohol, recreational drugs)
Educational attainment
High school drop out rates
Injury control factors:
Mortality due to MVA
Alcohol related deaths per year
Mortality rate for homicides
Mortality rate for suicides
Agricultural accidents in county
Programs in the communityU.S. Census Bureau - American FactFinder - Search for a community by zip code
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=enState of Learning Report 2004 - Statewide statistics for public school districts (dropout rates, school lunch program, etc)
http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/irts/655report/2004/Volume2/RptTable01_2004.pdfNew York State Department of Health. County Health Indicator Profiles
http://www.health.state.ny.us/statistics/chip/index.htm
Miscellaneous Selected Resources:
American Hospital Directory - State and national statistics and hospital profiles including inpatient and outpatient statistics
http://www.ahd.com/CDC Wonder - "provides a single point of access to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data."
http://wonder.cdc.gov/welcome.htmlCenter for Studying Health System Change
http://www.hschange.org/Department of Health and Human Services - Statistics
http://www.hhs.gov/reference/index.shtml#statisticsEnviro-Health Links
http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/enviro/envirohealthlinks.html
Health, United States. Adolescent health chartbook
2000 edition shelved in the Reference Stacks RA407.3 .U57i 2000
1999 edition shelved in the Reference Stacks RA407.3 .U57g 1999Health, United States. Socioeconomic status and health chartbook
1998 edition shelved in the Reference Stacks RA407.3 .U57e 1998Healthy People 2010
http://www.healthypeople.gov/MMWR - Health Disparities Experienced by Hispanics
http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/mm5340a1.htmNational Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information
http://nccanch.acf.hhs.gov/pubs/factsheets/fatality.pdf
National Center for Health Statistics
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/National Center for Injury Prevention and Control
http://webapp.cdc.gov/sasweb/ncipc/leadcaus10.htmlNational Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases - AIDS/HIV Statistics
http://www.niaid.nih.gov/factsheets/aidsstat.htmPortrait of health in the United States - Major statistical trends & guide to resources"
Ref. RA410.53 .P67 2001
U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov/
U.S. Census Bureau - Question and Answer
https://ask.census.gov/cgi-bin/askcensus.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=976&p_created=1128016831&p_sid=sFkQXWbi&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPSZwX3NvcnRfYnk9JnBfZ3JpZHNvcnQ9JnBfcm93X2NudD02MTImcF9wcm9kcz0mcF9jYXRzPSZwX3B2PSZwX2N2PSZwX3NlYXJjaF90eXBlPWFuc3dlcnMuc2VhcmNoX25sJnBfcGFnZT0x&p_li=&p_topview=1U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services. Administration for Children and Families. Child Maltreatment Report 2003
http://www.acf.dhhs.gov/programs/cb/publications/cm03/index.htmVital Statistics of the United States
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/products/pubs/pubd/vsus/vsus.htmVital statistics of the United States : births, life expectancy, deaths and selected health data
2004 edition available at the Reference Desk Ref. HA203 .V587Women's Health Care in the United States
http://www.ahrq.gov/qual/nhqrwomen/nhqrwomen.htm
American Community Survey
http://www.census.gov/acs/www/Community Resources Database of Long Island - Find information about Long Island agencies, organizations, and programs:
http://www.crdli.org/topic_health.htmlHealth and healthcare in the United States : county and metro area data
1999 edition shelved in the Reference Stacks RA407.3 .H415MapStats - New York - Provides a profile of State, county, city, congressional district, or Federal judicial district,
http://www.fedstats.gov/qf/states/36000.htmlNassau County Community Health Assessment
http://www.health.state.ny.us/nysdoh/chac/pdf/nassau.pdf
or
http://72.14.207.104/search?q=cache:zDegTQ-bUIEJ:www.health.state.ny.us/nysdoh/chac/pdf/nassau.pdf+nassau+county+hepatitis+A++incidence+by+zip+code&hl=enNassau County community health assessment. Update
Ref. RA407.4.N7 C66Nassau County Health Department - Health Data
http://www.nassaucountyny.gov/official/county/agencies/Health/Home/Health+Data/
New York State Department of Health. County Health Indicator Profiles
http://www.health.state.ny.us/statistics/chip/index.htmUCSF Disability Statistics Center - U.S. Decennial Census / Supplementary Surveys / American Community Survey
http://www.dsc.ucsf.edu/main.php?name=censusU.S. Census Bureau - American FactFinder - Search for a community by zip code
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=enVital signs, measuring Long Island's social health
http://10.13.169.20/search~S1?/.b1503673/.b1503673/1,1,1,B/l856~b1503673&FF=&1,0,,1,0
Ref. HN79.N7 V57
American Community Survey
http://www.census.gov/acs/www/Health and healthcare in the United States : county and metro area data
1999 edition shelved in the Reference Stacks RA407.3 .H415Health care state rankings 2006: health care in the 50 United States
Ref. RA407.3 .H423 2006MapStats - New York - Provides a profile of State, county, city, congressional district, or Federal judicial district,
http://www.fedstats.gov/qf/states/36000.htmlNew York City : a basic guide to services and community resources
Ref. HV99.N59 N58 2000New York State Community Profiles - search by name of community
http://www.epodunk.com/profiles/ny_a.htmlNew York State Department of Health. County Health Indicator Profiles
http://www.health.state.ny.us/statistics/chip/index.htmNew York State Department of Health - Statistics and Data
http://www.health.state.ny.us/statistics/New York State Statistical Yearbook
http://www.nysstatistics.org/yearbook/ and Reference Desk HA544 .A2State Health Facts.Org
http://www.statehealthfacts.kff.org/cgi-bin/healthfacts.cgiState of Learning Report 2004 - Statewide statistics for public school districts (dropout rates, school lunch program, etc)
http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/irts/655report/2004/Volume2/RptTable01_2004.pdfSubstance Abuse and Mental Health in New York, 2001
http://www.oas.samhsa.gov/8states/ny2k1.docUCSF Disability Statistics Center - U.S. Decennial Census / Supplementary Surveys / American Community Survey
http://www.dsc.ucsf.edu/main.php?name=censusU.S. Census Bureau - American FactFinder - Search for a community by zip code
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=en
Department of Health and Human Services. Centers for Disease Control. Obesity
http://www.cdc.gov/search.do?action=search&subset=nchs&queryText=obesity&sort=
National Conference of State Legislatures. Physical Activity and Nutrition
http://www.ncsl.org/programs/health/phyact.htm#nutrobj
New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. Chronic Disease Prevention and Control. Physical Activity and Nutrition/Obesity (Various reports)
http://www.nyc.gov/html/doh/html/cdp/cdp-obesity.shtmlNew York State Department of Health. Obesity Prevention (including Facts and Statistics)
http://www.health.state.ny.us/prevention/obesity/index.htmSchools Participating in Statewide Activ8Kids! Obesity Prevention Campaign
http://www.health.state.ny.us/press/releases/2005/2005-10-19_activ8kids_campaign.htmState Health Facts.org - Overweight and Obesity Rate, 2002
http://statehealthfacts.org/cgi-bin/healthfacts.cgi?action=compare&category=Health+Status&subcategory=Obesity&topic=Overweight+and+Obesity+Rate&gsaview=1U,S. Dept. of Health and Human Services. National Institutes of Health. Weight Control Information Network
http://win.niddk.nih.gov/statistics/index.htm
Search the following websites to find statistics for:
Air quality
Water quality
Public transportation infrastructure
General transportation infrastructure
Housing conditions, availability of rental housing
Major employers
Major industries
% of children tested for lead, and % with elevated lead levels
Housing units built before 1950
Known contaminants in the communityU.S. Census Bureau - American FactFinder - Search for a community by zip
code
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=enU. S. Environmental Protection Agency. Air Quality
http://www.epa.gov/ebtpages/airairquality.htmlU. S. Environmental Protection Agency. Peak Air Quality Statistics by County
http://www.epa.gov/air/airtrends/aqtrndNew York State Department of Health. Water Quality Report Links.
http://www.health.state.ny.us/nysdoh/water/water_quality_report_links.htm
U.S. Census Bureau - American FactFinder - Search for a community by zip code
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=en
State of Learning Report 2004 - Statewide statistics for public school districts (dropout rates, school lunch program, etc)
http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/irts/655report/2004/Volume2/RptTable01_2004.pdfU.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services. Administration for Children and Families. Child Maltreatment Report 2003
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/pubs/cm03/index.htmDivorce rate
Median household income
% of population below Federal poverty level, % below 2005 of Federal poverty level
% of children below Federal poverty level
% of families with single head of household
Unemployment rate
Recreational facilities
% of children on school lunch program
Child abuse statistics
American Community Survey
http://www.census.gov/acs/www/Community Resources Database of Long Island - Find information about Long Island agencies, organizations, and programs:
http://www.crdli.org/topic_health.htmlHealth and healthcare in the United States : county and metro area data
1999 edition shelved in the Reference Stacks RA407.3 .H415MapStats - New York - Provides a profile of State, county, city, congressional district, or Federal judicial district,
http://www.fedstats.gov/qf/states/36000.htmlState of Learning Report 2004 - Statewide statistics for public school districts (dropout rates, school lunch program, etc)
http://www.emsc.nysed.gov/irts/655report/2004/Volume2/RptTable01_2004.pdfSuffolk County, NY. Dept. of Health Services Annual Report 2003 (Includes statistics by township)
http://www.co.suffolk.ny.us/Health%20Services/AnnRpt2003.pdfUCSF Disability Statistics Center - U.S. Decennial Census / Supplementary Surveys / American Community Survey
http://www.dsc.ucsf.edu/main.php?name=censusU.S. Census Bureau - American FactFinder - Search for a community by zip code
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=enVital signs, measuring Long Island's social health
http://10.13.169.20/search~S1?/.b1503673/.b1503673/1,1,1,B/l856~b1503673&FF=&1,0,,1,0
Ref. HN79.N7 V57
American Public Health Association, 133rd Annual Meeting & Exposition- Health Access for Vulnerable Populations
http://apha.confex.com/apha/133am/techprogram/session_17591.htmEconomic Research Service - Vulnerable Populations
http://www.ers.usda.gov/Briefing/VulnerablePopulations/Preparenow.org - Vulnerable Population Links
http://www.preparenow.org/pop.htmlRobert Wood Johnson Foundation - Vulnerable Populations
http://www.rwjf.org/portfolios/interestarea.jsp?iaid=144UCLA School of Nursing. Center for Vulnerable Populations Research
http://www.nursing.ucla.edu/organizations/cvpr/Vulnerable populations in the United States by Shi, Leiyu
RA418.5.P6 S54 2005
Prepared by Professor Linda Weinberg 4/09