Guide to the Panama
Canal Collection Papers
Summary Information
Provenance
The collection was donated by Robert McMillan starting
in the 1990s and continues to the present (2008).
Title and Dates
Panama Canal Collection Papers
1846-2004, bulk 1989-1994
Abstract
The Panama Canal Commission (PCC) was established as an
independent agency in 1979, superseding the Canal Zone Government and
the Panama Canal Company. The PCC operated and maintained the Panama
Canal in cooperation with the Republic of Panama from 1979-1999. Mr.
McMillan began sending Adelphi material soon after he was appointed to
the Commission and donated a large number of materials in 1999.
Size
30 linear feet
Location
Adelphi University Archives and Special Collections,
Garden City, NY.
Language of Material
English, Spanish and French
Biography
After completing his undergraduate work at Adelphi, Robert R. McMillan received his JD degree from Brooklyn Law School in 1960. In
addition to his distinguished legal career, Mr. McMillan has served on
or headed numerous government, community, and private sector boards and
was a member of the Board of Trustees of Adelphi University. An
advocate of community service, Mr. McMillan founded the Long Island
Housing Partnership, Inc. for affordable housing in 1987. More
recently, in 2002, he became the first non-physician member of the
Board of Trustees of the American Medical Association. Mr. McMillan was
appointed to the Board of the Panama Canal Commission by President
George Bush in 1989 and served as its Chairman from 1993-1994 the only
non- Department of Defense official to do so.
Scope and
Content Note
The Panama Canal Collection is a diverse collection of
materials which give a historical perspective of Panama, the Panama
Canal and the Panama Canal Commission. Also included is material
relating to the strategic and economic importance of the Canal in
today’s global economy. The collection consists of correspondence
created by Robert McMillan (board member and Chairman of the Panama
Canal Commission), correspondence to Mr. McMillan and correspondence
generated by other members of the board and other important
figures. Also in the collection are essays, articles and chapters
for Mr. McMillan’s book Global Passage. There is also a
superb collection of manuscripts about the Panama Canal. The
preponderance of materials concerns the Panama Canal Commission and the
period between 1989 and 1999. Included are reports concerning
educational and employment practices, administration, regulations,
presentations, financial reports, government reports, audits,
newsletters (the Spillway), press releases, proposals,
proceedings, ephemera and tourist guides, photos and memorabilia.
Arrangement
Series 1: Correspondence 1989-1999
Subseries A: Correspondence To: Mr. McMillan, 1989-1999
Subseries B: Correspondence From: Mr. McMillan, 1990-1999
Subseries C: Correspondence by Others, 1902, 1915, 1988-1997
Series 2: Memoranda
Subseries A: To the Board of Directors, 1990-1997
Subseries B: To the Chairman of the Board, 1990-1994
Subseries C: To the Inspector General, 1993-1994
Subseries D: To the Secretary of the Army and the Under Secretary of
the Army, 1993-1994
Subseries E: To the Secretary of PCC, 1992-1994
Subseries F: To the Personnel Director and members of the Personnel and
Security Committee, 1993-1994
Subseries G: To the Executive Committee, 1993
Subseries H: To the Administrator, 1991-1994
Series 3: Board Meetings and Personnel and Security Meetings, 1990-1994
Series 4: Drafts for publications, and related materials,
1990-1999
Subseries A: Speeches, Articles and Essays, 1990-1999
Subseries B: Rough Drafts for Chapters in Book Global Passage,
undated, 1990-1995
Subseries C: Reflections, Notes made by Robert McMillan, undated
Series 5: Presentations 1977-1998
Subseries A: General Presentations, 1977-1998
Subseries B: Catastrophic Insurance Program, undated
Series 6: Documents about the Panama Canal Treaty, undated
Series 7: General Historical and Background Information about Panama,
the Canal and the Panama Canal Commission, undated, 1994-1995
Series 8: Future of Panama undated, 1994-1995
Series 9: Governance and Financial Reports 1980-1997
Subseries A: Publications about Assessment of Governance and Financial
Management, Audits, Budget Programs, and Ten Year Report, 1980-1996
Subseries B: Recommendations Concerning Governance, 1993-1995
Subseries C: Organic Law of the Panama Canal Authority, 1997
Series 10: Office of the Inspector General, 1991-1994
Subseries A: Correspondence concerning the Office of Inspector General,
1994
Subseries B: Memoranda concerning with the Office of the Inspector
General, 1993
Subseries C: Semiannual Reports, 1991-1994
Subseries D: Office of the Inspector General Mission Statement, 1993
Subseries E: Comments on Office of Inspector General, 1993
Subseries H: Publications of the Office of the Inspector General,
1993-1994
Series 11: Guidelines, Laws and Bylaws, 1982-1998
Series 12: Memoranda of Understanding, 1979-1994
Series 13: Publications about Increase in Tolls, 1992
Series 14: Proposal 090960, 1992-1993
Series 15: Lavecchia Trial, 1994
Series 16: Employment Policies, undated, 1990-1994
Series 17: Education of Panama Canal Employees, 1991-1994
Series 18: Economic and Business Outlook, 1991-1999
Series 19: Marketing Program of PCC, Nov. and Dec. 1992
Series 20: Atlantic Council of the United States Papers, 1994-1996
Subseries A: Correspondence with Atlantic Council, 1995-1996
Subseries B: Background Information (including list of members), Draft
papers and Bulletins, 1995-1996
Subseries C : Publications, 1994-1996
Series 21: Universal Congress of the Panama Canal Papers, 1997
Subseries A: Correspondence, 1997
Subseries B: Remarks, Photos and Ephemera 1997
Subseries C: Publications, 1997
Series 22: Information about Japan, 1991-1995
Subseries A: Japan and its relationship to Panama and the Canal, Essays
by McMillan
Subseries B: Noriega’s relationship to Japan including Disk of
Testimony
Subseries C: Remarks made by Consul Ito 1993
Series 23: Papers on H.R. 1558 and H.R. 2950, 1991
Series 24: Report for His Excellency Guillermo Endara Galimany, 1991
Series 25: Unclassified Papers, 1992-1994
Series 26: Proceedings, 1993-1994
Series 27: Miscellaneous Minutes, 1990-1994
Series 28: Letters, phone calls etc in non paper media, 1994
Series 29: Random Notes, 1993-1997
Series 30: Administration, 1989-1990
Series 31: Biographical Information, 1983-1999
Series 32: Shipping Information and Statistics on Cargo, undated,
1991-1994
Series 33: Gaillard Cut / Widening Programs, 1987-1994
Series 34: Research on Grain Statistics and Employment Statistics, 1995
Series 35: Itineraries and Agendas, 1990-1994
Series 36: Congressional Yellow Book and Telephone Numbers and
Addresses, undated, 1990
Series 37: On- site visits, 1992-1995
Series 38: The Exhibit, The End of an Era: The Transfer of the
Panama Canal, December 1999-January, 2000 and Selections
form the Panama Canal Collection, 2008
Series 39: Newsletter, Spillway, 1990-1999
Series 40: Clippings, 1983-1999
Series 41: Magazines, 1906-1999
Series 42: Daily News Summaries, 1991-1999
Series 43: Noriega Trial Transcripts 1991-1992
Series 44: Videos and Flash Drive Power Point Presentations undated,
1993-1995
Series 45: Selected Panama Canal Photographs Index, 1967
Series 46: Ephemera, undated, 1906-2004
Series 47: Newspapers, 1880-1999
Series 48: Photographs and Postcards,1906-1997
Series 49: Maps and Engineering Diagrams about the Canal Region,
undated, 1910, 1945
Series 50: Memorabilia, 1850-1999
Series 51: Flat File, 1908-1994
Access and Use
The Panama Canal Collection is open to research.
Restrictions on Use and Copyright Information
Single photocopies may be made for research purposes.
Permission to publish materials from the collection must be requested
from Adelphi University Archives and Special Collections. Researchers
are responsible for other copyright compliance.
Processing Information
The Collection was processed by Claudia Lemlich and
Elayne Gardstein and the Finding Aid was written by Claudia Lemlich and
Elayne Gardstien.
Descriptive Rules Used
Finding aid content adheres to that prescribed by Describing Archives: Content Standard.
Preferred Citation
Identification of specific item; Date (if known), Robert
R. McMillan Panama Canal Collection, University Archives and Special
Collections, Adelphi University, Garden City, NY 11530.
Subject
Headings
Atlantic Council of the United States
McMillan, Robert R.
Panama Canal (Panama) - History -20th Century
Panama Canal (Panama) - Economic aspects
Panama Canal (Panama) –International status
Panama -History - 1981-
Panama -Foreign relations – United States
United States –Foreign relations –Panama
United States. Panama Canal Commission
Contents List
Series 1: Correspondence, 1989-1999
Series Description
The Correspondence Series contains letters written to and from Mr.
McMillan concerning the Panama Canal Commission as well as letters
written to and from other members of the Commission and prominent
Panamanians. Also included are correspondence from notable figures who
were involved in the construction and operation of the Canal, as well
as the presiding presidents and dignitaries from the United States and
Panama.
Arrangement
Arranged chronologically when dates available, otherwise alphabetically.
Box
Folder
Title
Date
Subseries A: Correspondence From: Mr. McMillan
1
1
A-C
1990-1999
1
2
D-H
1990-1997
1 3
J-M
1990-1997
1
4
N-Q
1990-1998
1
5
R
1990-1996
2
1
S-T
1992-1996
2
2
V
1990-1998
2
3
W-Z
1993-1997
2 4
Miscellaneous
undated
Subseries B: Correspondence To: Mr. McMillan
2
5
A-D
1990-1999
2
6
E-L
1991-1997
2
7
M-P
1991-1997
3
1
R
1989-1992
3
2
R continued
1993-1995
3
3
S-Z
1990-1997
Subseries C: From Others
3
4
A-P
1915, 1988-1995
3
5
R
1902, 1991-1994
3 6
S-V
1992-1997
Series 2: Memoranda, 1991-1997
Series Description
Memoranda include the internal mail correspondence of the Panama Canal
Collection
Subseries A: Memoranda to the Board of Directors,
1990-1997
4
1
1998-1990
4
2
1991
4
3
1992
4
4
1992
4
5
1992
4
6
1992
4
7
1993
5
1
1993
5
2
1993
5
3
1994
5 4
1994
5
5
1994
5
6
1995-97
Subseries B: Memoranda to the Chairman of the Board,
1990-1994
6
1
1990-1991
6
2-3
1992
6
4
1993-1994
Subseries C: Memoranda to the Inspector General
6
1
1993-1994
Subseries D: Memoranda to the Secretary of the Army and
the Under Secretary of the Army
6
2
1992-1994
Subseries E: Memoranda to the Secretary of PCC
6
3
1992-1994
Subseries F: Memoranda to the Personnel Director and
members of the Personnel and Security Committee
6 4
1993-1994
Subseries G: Memoranda to the Executive Committee
6
5
1993-1994
Subseries H: Memoranda to the Administrator
6
6
1991-1994
Series 3: Board Meetings 1990-1994
7
No.
90-2
Jan. 31-Feb. 11, 1990
7
No.
91-2
Jan. 16, 17, 1991
7
No.
91-4
July 11, 1991
7
No.
92-1
Oct. 23, 1991
8
No.
92-2
Jan. 30, 1992
8
No.
92-3
April 9, 1992
8
No.
92-4
July 16, 1992
8
No.
93-1
Oct.28, 1992
8
No.
93-2
Jan. 11, 1993
9
No.
93-3
April 7, 1993
9
No.
93-4
July 14, 1993
9
No.
94-1
Oct. 27, 1993
9
No.
94-2
Jan. 26, 1994
9
No.
94-3
April 13, 1994
9
No.
94-4
July 13, 1994
Series 4: Drafts for Publications and related
materials, 1990-1999
Series Description
The Publications Series includes in Subseries A: speeches, articles,
pamphlets and essays. These materials are related to Mr. McMillan’s
book, Global Passage and reflect Mr. McMillan’s opinions on a
variety of subjects pertaining to the Panama Canal. These papers
concern issues such as the transition of authority of the Panama from
the United States government to Panamanian government and remarks on
the general state of affairs in Panama from 1990-1999. In subseries B
are several of the drafts for the chapters in this book. Also included
in this subseries are information and notes compiled by Mr. McMillan in
his research for Global Passage. In Subseries C are
reflections and notes made by Mr. McMillan.
Arrangement
Arranged Chronologically
Subseries A: Speeches Articles Pamphlets and Essays,
1990-1999
10
1 1990-1999
Subseries B: Chapters for Book Global Passage
including notes and information collected in the process of research
for the chapters
10 1-19
11 1-6
Subseries C: Reflections, Notes made by Robert McMillan
11
7 undated
Series 5: Presentations, 1992-1998
Series Description
These include presentations and statements given by members of the
Panama Canal Commission and others who played an important role in the
governance and functioning of the Panama Canal.
Subseries A: General Presentations
12
1
A-D 1977-1998
12
2
E-H 1993-1994
12
3
J-S 1992-1993
12
4
T-Z 1992-1993
Subseries B: Catastrophic Insurance Program
12 5
undated
Series 6: Documents about Panama Canal Treaty
Series Description
These documents describe the guiding principles of the Treaty and
include documents about its meaning and impact.
12
6
undated
Series 7: General Historical and Background
Information about Panama, the Canal and the Panama Canal Commission
Series Description
These materials include various types of information which
contain historical and general information about the history of the
Panama and the Canal.
12
7
1846-1912
12 8
undated, 1915-1997
Series 8: Future of the Canal
Series Description
The future of the Panama Canal concerns initiatives created while the
Panama Canal Commission was in operation. It concerns the
projected future of the Canal from the viewpoint of the given
timeframe. Much of the material concerns the transition of the
governance of the Canal from the United States to the Republic of
Panama.
12 9
undated, 1994-1995
Series 9: Governance and Financial Reports
Series Description
These reports concern the Governing and Financial Integrity of the
Panama Canal Commission and the Panama Canal region.
Subseries A: Publications about Assessment of
Governance and Financial Management, Audits, Budget Programs, and Ten
Year Report
13
1-8 1980-1996
Subseries B: The Organic Law of the Panama Canal
Authority
13
9 1993-1996
Subseries C: Legislative Recommendations,
Assessments, Amendments and General Recommendations concerning
governance of the Panama Canal Commission and region.
13
10-13
1993-1995
Series 10: Reports of the Office of the
Inspector General
Series Description
Contains materials generated by and about the Inspector General
including publications memoranda and correspondence. These include
publications such as semiannual reports from 1991 through 1994, and
annual reports for 1993 and 1994, a report on actions needed to
strengthen OIG at designated federal entities as well as various
reports on specific subjects handled by the OIG.
14
1-24 1992-1994
Series 11: Guidelines, Laws and Bylaws
Series Description
The Guidelines, Laws and Bylaws are issues that concern the governance
of the Canal and include the general mission statement of the Panama
Canal Commission, its regulations, and charters.
15 1
Series 12: Memoranda of Understanding
Series Description
These materials regard “the consultation of U.S. agencies operating in
Panama and the coordination of the policies and activities of the
agencies.” Of note are materials concerning the relationship between
the Panama Canal Commission and the Pilots Branch.
15 2
Series 13: Publications about an Increase in Tolls
Series Description
These publications by the Panama Canal Commission Board of Directors
concern the increase in tolls.
Subseries A: Proposal To Increase Tolls
15
3 April
1992
Subseries B: Panama Canal Tolls Hearing
15
4-5
June 4, 1992
Subseries C: Report of Panel on Proposed changes
in Rates of Tolls
15
6
July, 1992
Series 14: Proposal 090960
Series Description
Panama Canal Commission developed Proposal 090960 to procure advisory
services for the Board of Directors in December of 1992. Included in
this series are a procurement package, proposals in response to
the request for advisory services, correspondence pertaining to
the proposal as well as papers giving the credentials of those
responding, evaluation of the responses, and papers dealing with
procurement integrity.
16
1-5
1993-1993
Series 15: Lavecchia Trial
Series Description
Included in these papers are Press Releases and related materials about
the Lavecchia trial concerning racketeering charges.
Lavecchia served as Chief of the Panama Canal Commission’s
Logistical Support Division (1986-1990).
16
6 1994
Series 16: Employment Policies
Series Description
Policies include Panamanian participation in key operations, their wage
adjustments, pensions and medical care costs, employment procedures
concerning minority groups, overtime and temporaries as well as
retirement.
17
1-19 1990-1994
Series 17: Education of Panama Canal Employees
Series Description
These materials concern training for management as well as executive
positions with special attention to educating qualified managers to
sustain the Canal up to and after the year 2000. Also included is
some information about the training of Latin American Soldiers at the
School of the Americas.
18
1-5 1990-1994
Series 18: Economic and Business Outlook
Series Description
These materials provide information about possibilities for economic
investment in Panama, especially the future of foreign investment in
Panama’s economy and real estate. Also included is information about
Interoceanic Region Authority of Panama which includes materials about
the Maritime Sector, Industrial Parks and Tourism.
19
1-2 1991-1999
Series 19: Marketing Program
Series Description
The Marketing Program is a part of the Budget and Finance Committee
charter and concerns the promotion of the use of the Panama Canal
19
3-4 1992-1996
Series 20: Atlantic Council of the United States
Series Description
Atlantic Council is an entity which is involved in international dialog
to develop international policy in this case with respect to Panama.
Subseries A: Correspondence with Atlantic
Council
19
5 1994-1996
Subseries B: Background Information (including
list of members), Draft of Policy Papers and Bulletin
19
6 1995-1996
Subseries C: Publications
19
7-8 1994-1996
Series 21: Universal Congress of The Panama Canal
Series Description
The Congress was formed as a response to the transition of the Canal
from US control to Panamanian Control. Its goal was to address issues
concerning the transfer including status and future of the waterways as
well as opportunities for investment in the area.
Subseries A: Correspondence
20
1 1997
Subseries B: Remarks, Photos and Ephemera
20
2 1997
Subseries C: Publications
20
3 1997
Series 22: Information regarding Japan
Series Description
Included are comments on Japan by Mr. McMillan who stresses the idea
that Japan at the time of the Canal’s transition from U.S. to
Panamanian control, was seeking to have an important role in the
supervision of the Canal. During that time, Japan had a lot at stake
with respect to the Canal. In essence, Mr. McMillan believed
Japan would benefit greatly if it controlled the Canal and that it had
every intention to do so. Also included are remarks made by
Consul General Ito who discussed Japan’s relationship with the Panama
Canal as of June1993. Furthermore in these papers are transcripts
from the trial of Manuel Noriega, where he was implicated as having
received “bribes” from Japanese businesses with interests in
controlling the Canal.
20
4-6 undated,
1991-1997
Series 23: Papers on H.R. 1558 and H.R. 2950
Series Description
These include some correspondence and background information
concerning the respective Bills. H.R. 1558 is a Bill “to amend the
Panama Canal Act of 1979 to provide for a Chairman of the Board of the
Panama Canal Commission and for other purposes.”
H.R. 2950 concerns the defense sites and military installation built by
the United States and their exclusive use by Panama.
20
7 1991
Series 24: Report for His Excellency Guillermo Endara Galimany
Series Description
This report includes “recommendations for the short, medium and long
term effective management of the reverting assets, as well as
recommendations for the future optimum administration of the Panama
Canal.”
20
8 1991
Series 25: Proceedings
Series Description
Proceedings by Miller Reporting basically are the transcripts of board
meetings as recorded by Miller Reporting. They concern both the
nomination of Robert McMillan to Chairman of the Board in October 1993
and the replacement of Mr. McMillan in 1994 by Joe Reeder. Also
included are miscellaneous transcripts from awards ceremonies.
20
9-10
1985-1994
Series 26: Miscellaneous Minutes
Series Description
Included in the Minutes are those from the Personnel Committee, the
Personnel and Security Committee, the Operating Committee, the PCC
Transition Committee, and the Audit Committee.
20
11 1990-1994
Series 27: Letters, phone calls in non paper media
Series Description
Included are a Floppy Disk of a Freedom of Information Act sample
letter and a phone call with J. Reeder on cassette.
20 12
1994
Series 28: Unclassified Papers
Series Description
Included in these papers are the statements made by various politicians
about the governance and welfare of Panama and the Canal. Topics
covered include the Noriega trial, democratic elections, drug
trafficking as well as the investment of the Chinese in the operation
of ports in Panama.
20 13
1992-1994
Series 29: Random Notes
Series Description
These provide a unique opportunity to see the thought process involved
in Mr. McMillan’s decision making. For the most part the notes
are from the period of 1994-1997 and concern issues involved in
maintaining the Canal and the administration of the Panama Canal
Commission.
21 1
1993-1997
Series 30: Administration
Series Description
Included are functional charts describing the different levels of
management for the Office of the Administrator and Staff, Office of
Financial Management, Office of Personnel Administration, Marine
Bureau, and General Service Bureau. Also included is information
concerning the administration of the Engineering and Construction
Bureau of the Industrial Division.
21
2
undated, 1989
Series 31: Biographical Information
Series Description
The Biographical information described is that of Robert McMillan as
well as other notable officials.
21
3
undated,
1983-1999
Series 32: Shipping Information and Statistics
on Cargo
Series Description
Shipping information consists of The Marine Directors advisory to
shipping and The Marine Bureau mailing list of shipping companies. The
Cargo statistics give detailed information about commodity movements
through the Canal, Canal traffic and toll revenue as well as details
about cargo with destinations other than the U.S.
21
4
undated,
1991-1994
Series 33: Gaillard Cut/ Widening Program
Series Description
The materials included concern the fact that a greater number of Panama
vessels began traversing the Canal and there was concern as to whether
the Canal could accommodate those vessels. Discussed in these papers is
the time frame for the widening of the Gaillard Cut. Also
included is information about The Canal Alternatives Study regarding
the feasibility of a sea level Canal in Panama.
21
5
undated,
1987-1991
Series 34: Research on Grain Statistics and Employment
Statistics
Series Description
This includes statistics published by Agricultural Outlook, an economic
research service of the United States Department of Agriculture
published in April 1995.
Also included are statistics on employment and earnings issued by the
U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics in March of 1995.
21
6 1995
Series 35: On-site visits
Series Description
These include materials about visits by Panama Canal Commission members
to different regions of the Panama Canal during 1992-1993
21
7
1992-1993
Series 36: Itineraries and Agendas
Series Description
These materials include some invitations and itineraries, as well as
guest lists of Panama Canal Commission meetings and miscellaneous
agendas for working meetings of the Commission.
21
8 undated,1990-1994
Series 37: Telephone Numbers and Addresses,
Congressional Yellow Book
Series Description
These include telephone numbers and addresses of the members of the
board of the Panama Canal Commission and many others found in Mr.
McMillan’s papers.
21
9
undated, 1994-1995
Series 38: Exhibits, The End of an Era:
The Transfer of the Panama Canal and Selections
from the Panama Canal Collection
Series Description
The End of an Era: The Transfer of the Panama Canal
exhibit took place from December 7, 1999 to January 21, 2000 at Swirbul
Library of Adelphi University. Contained in this exhibit are two
bound preliminary chapters for Global Passage. These are “America Swings
a Big Stick and The Patrimony of Panama. Also included
is the video “A Quick Look at the Panama Canal”, a
flyer with a selected bibliography, and a newspaper clipping from Long
Island Newsday concerning the exhibit. Also included in the series
are the exhibit labels for the Selections from the Panama Canal
Collection exhibit of 2008.
22
1999-2000, 2008
Series 39: Clippings
Series Description
Clippings include articles from various periodicals. Articles included are from leading newspapers in the United States and from newspapers in Panama. They range in dates from 1903 to 1998. Also included in this collection are press releases, news obtained through the internet and articles from leading magazines in the United States.
23 1-6 1903-1999
24 1-11 1973-1999
Series 40: Magazines
Series Description
Included are magazines such as Cosmopolitan from 1906, Liberty from 1941 and Life from 1957. There are a variety of magazines dating from 1974 through 1997. They contain historical information about the Canal, the industry supported by the Canal and investments which pertain to it, and describe the Canal as a key element in international trade.
25 1-6 1906-1999
Series 41: Newsletter, The Spillway
Series Description
The Spillway was the first Canal newspaper published in 1962. It is published in both English and Spanish and contains articles about the Panama Canal its operation, administration and infrastructure.
26 1-5 1990-1995
27 1-4 1996-1999
Series 42: Daily News Summary
Series Description
The Daily News Summary was published by the Office of Public Affairs of
the Panama Canal Commission and is a translation and summary of local
Panamanian news. Included are summaries from La Prensa, La
Estrella, El Panama America, El Siglo and Critica
Libre.
28
1-10
1991-1992
29
1-11
1993
30
1-10
1994
31
1-12
1995
32
1-12
1996
33
1-12
1997
34
1-14
1988-1989
Series 43: Noriega Trial Transcripts
Series Description
The trial papers are the complete transcript of the trial of General
Manuel Noriega the Military Dictator of Panama from 1983 to 1989.
He was convicted under federal charges of cocaine trafficking,
racketeering and money laundering. His trial began in 1991 and he was
convicted in 1992.
35
36
Series 44: Videos and Power Point Presentations on
Flash Drive
Series Description
These include A Quick Look at Panama and The Panama
Canal It’s Something to See as well as footage of a Board Meeting,
a video created for the 75th Anniversary of the Canal, and a Modern
Marvels Video. The Power Point presentations include the following
subjects: The French failure at the Panama Canal, Theodore
Roosevelt’s Success, The Transformation of Panama
and the Panama Canal and Columns: Marilyn Monroe to
Vietnam and Iraq.
37 undated,
1993-1995
Series 45: Selected Panama Canal Photographs Index
1904-1939
Series Description
This collection contains table of contents and indexes for volume 24,
pages 1-101. This volume belongs to a larger collection which has,
“twenty four volumes containing 2,233 photographs selected from about
16,000 glass plate negatives to provide a photographic history of the
construction and operation of the Panama Canal”, from 1904-1939. This
volume was published by the Administrative Services Division of the
Panama Canal Company in Balboa Heights of The Canal Zone in 1967.
38 1967
Series 46: Ephemera
Series Description
Included in Ephemera are many items of interest including business
pamphlets, art pamphlets, travel guides and tourist information,
commemorative magazines and albums, holiday cards and invitations,
color prints, stamp collections, as well as decorative books with color
plates, and other miscellaneous items.
38 1906-2004
39
40
Series 47: Newspapers
Series Description
Among the newspapers collected are the New York
Tribune from 1906 and the Los Angeles Herald
of 1903. Also included are front pages from the Illustrated
London News from 1880 and issues of the Youths
Companion from 1903 and the Journal de Finances from
1904 as well as The Canal Record of 1907. (These are
housed in the oversized flat boxes)
40 1880-1999
44
Series 48: Photographs, and Postcards
Series Description
The Panama Canal Collection includes an extensive collection of
photographs, and post cards. Included are postcards and some
photographs from the period of Canal construction. Most
photographs in the collection are primarily from the 1990s and include
photos of Robert McMillan presiding over board meetings, photos of
Panama just after Operation Just Cause, the inauguration of Ernesto
Balladeres as president of Panama as well as a trip made in 1997 to the
region by Mr. McMillan. Also included are panoramic views of the canal
region and autochrome photographs by Harrison from 1913. (These are
housed in separate flat boxes)
40 1906-1997
41
42
43
Series 49: Maps and Engineering Diagrams about the
Canal Region
Series Description
Included in this series are a Profile and Yardage Estimate on the Canal
by the Isthmian Canal Commission from 1910, a undated small map of the
Canal Zone and profile Diagram of the Isthmus and Canal, and a Plan for
a Sea Level Canal issued by the Panama Canal Department of Operation
and Maintenance created in 1945 by H. Ehrman with a cross section on
side a and a map on side b. Also in this collection is an
oversized map of the Canal Zone and vicinity with both the Atlantic and
Pacific regions. Also included are other miscellaneous maps of the
region from the period before and after the constructions of the
canal. (These are housed in an oversized flat box)
44 undated,
1910, 1945
Series 50: Memorabilia
Series Description
Memorabilia includes the following: a commemorative plaque signed by
Theodore Roosevelt in 1904, a plaque honoring the swearing in of Robert
McMillan to the Panama Canal Commission in 1989, a Panama Canal
Commission Mission statement plaque from 1990 and a framed Flag from
the Panama Canal Commissions office presented to Robert McMillan in
1999. Other plaques include Two French Stock Certificates issued to
support the building of the Panama Canal in 1850. Other Memorabilia
include I.D. badges from employees who worked on the construction of
the Canal, watch fobs, souvenir and commemorative medals and coins, a
commemorative plate, paper weights, an engraved memento, playing cards,
Panama Canal puzzles, coasters from the mail ship between Panama and
the U.S. and a book end made from a piece of railroad which traversed
Panama in 1850. Also included are several prints from 1908.
Many of the oversized framed items are currently housed on separate
shelves.
45 1850-1999
46
47
48
49
Series 51: Flat File
Series Description
These are items which cannot be housed in boxes. They include a
framed photograph of construction of the canal from 1913 and an undated
Birds Eye View map of the Canal. Also included are
matted photographs from both 1908 and 1994, and Panoramic views from
1908. 1908-1994