A GUIDE TO THE WILLIAM HONE MANUSCRIPT COLLECTION
AT ADELPHI UNIVERSITY
GARDEN CITY, NEW YORK
Prepared by Elayne Gardstein
Processed by April Earle
Creator: Hone, William, 1780-1842 (and contemporaries)
Title: Papers 1792-1953, bulk 1815-1842
Extent: 2.75 linear feet; 330 items
Repository: Special Collections, Adelphi University Libraries
Selected Search Terms
NamesBinney, Thomas, 1798-1874Subjects
Bowring, John, 1792-1872
Britton, John, 1771-1857
Cartwright, John, 1740-1824
Clarke, Charles Cowden, 1787-1877
Collier, John Payne, 1789-1883
Croker, John Wilson, 1780-1857
Cruikshank, George, 1792-1878
Dowling, Joseph Augustus
Fores, Samuel William, active 1785-1825
Godwin, William, 1756-1836
Hone, William, 1780-1842
Hunt, John, 1775-1848
Hunt, Leigh, 1784-1859
Ireland, W.H. [William Henry], 1777-1835
Knight, Charles, 1791-1873
Lamb, Charles, 1775-1834
Lawley, George T.
Moxon, Edward, 1801-1858
Perry, James, 1756-1821
Phillips, Charles, 1787?-1859
Pye, Charles, 1777-1864
Reid, George William, 1819-1887
Renier, Anne Cliff, d.1988
Renier, Fernand Gabriel, 1905-1988
Rodd, Thomas, 1796-1849
Rolleston, Frances, 1781-1864
Rutt, John Towill, 1760-1841
Sharpe, Charles Kirkpatrick, 1781?-1851
Timbs, John, 1801-1875
Wakefield, Edward, 1796-1862
Wilberforce, William, 1759-1833
Williams, Samuel, 1788-1853
Wilson, Walter, 1781-1847
Wooler, T.J. [Thomas Jonathan], 1786-1853
Wright, J. [John], 1770?-1844Antiquarian booksellers--Great Britain--ArchivesAdministrative Information
Booksellers and bookselling--Great Britain
Caricatures and cartoons--Great Britain
Great Britain--Politics and government--1800-1837
Political satire, English
Press and politics--Great Britain
Publishers and publishing--Great Britain--Archives
ProvenanceThe William Hone Manuscript Collection is part of the Hone Collection at Adelphi University, acquired in 1993 through a gift from The Friends of Adelphi University Library, Inc. and a bequest from the Helene and Josephine Lewinsohn Estate. It was formerly in the personal collection of Anne and F.G. Renier.AccessNo restrictions.Preferred Citation[Identification of item], William Hone Collection, Special Collections, Adelphi University Libraries.Processing InformationThe William Hone Manuscript Collection was cataloged by Elayne Gardstein and processed by April Earle as part of the Hone Collection cataloging project funded with a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.IntroductionBiographical Information
The William Hone Manuscript Collection is an important component of The William Hone Collection in Special Collections at Adelphi University Libraries. The correspondence, manuscripts, diaries, miscellaneous material, scrap album and sketches associated with William Hone (1780-1842) complement the books, pamphlets, broadsides, caricature and portrait prints in our Hone collection. This primary source material contains valuable information about the publishing and bookselling trades in early nineteenth century London, the activities of the Radical Press, Hone's antiquarian book research and his Parody Collection. There are also submissions for Hone's Every-Day Book, an unpublished satirical manuscript, a scrap album that once belonged to Hone's granddaughter and several original sketches by George Cruikshank.William Hone (1780-1842) was a popular and influential political satirist, pamphleteer, publisher and bookseller in early nineteenth century London. He was deeply committed to radical political reform, to the extent that three of his pamphlets brought a government prosecution against him. Hone proved his innocence and emerged a public hero and champion of freedom of the press.
Hone was born on June 3, 1780 in Bath and moved with his family to London three years later. As early as 1793, Hone attacked the French Revolution in a privately printed broadside entitled The Contrast. In addition to employment in legal offices London (1793 on) and Chatham (1797), he joined the London Corresponding Society in 1796. Following marriage to his Southwark landlady's daughter Sarah Johnson on July 19, 1800, he opened a stationary shop and circulating library. Hone entered into partnership with John Bone, first in a banking, annuity and employment office called "Tranquility" (1806-07) and then a Strand bookshop (1807-10). By 1811, he became a book auctioneer in Ivy Lane. During this period, Hone worked on plans to improve conditions in insane asylums (1813) and became editor of The Critical Review (1814-15). At the end of 1814, Hone moved his family into a house with bookshop at 55 Fleet Street.
Hone's early publications included sensationalist accounts of murders, trials and executions. Hone opened a shop at 67 Old Bailey in 1816 and associated with the Radicals of his time: Major John Cartwright, Francis Place, Charles Phillips, Robert Waithman, T. J. Wooler and others. He befriended the artist George Cruikshank (1792-1878) and the two collaborated on numerous projects for caricature prints and illustrated satirical pamphlets between 1815 and 1822. The Prince Regent was the object of their derision, and Cruikshank's biting illustrations of the future King George IV were matched by Hone's equally vivid captions and text. In addition to his weekly newspaper of 1817, The Reformists' Register, Hone published anti-government pamphlets in the form of religious parodies. Three of his pamphlets, The late John Wilkes's Catechism of a Ministerial Member, The Political Litany, Diligently Revised and The Sinecurist's Creed, or Belief, resulted in prosecution for blasphemy and profane and seditious libel. Following imprisonment, Hone defended himself using examples of religious parodies from his own antiquarian collection of books and broadsides during three successive trials in December, 1817. His acquittal was a victory for the Radical cause for a free press.
Following publication (1817-18) of accounts of his trials, Hone worked with Cruikshank on two important collaborative efforts in 1819. The Bank Restriction Barometer contained a replica of a Bank Restriction Note. The popularity of this "specimen of a bank note, not to be imitated" forced the government to cease hangings for passers of forged notes. The Political House that Jack Built, published by Hone in 54 editions (1819-20) and widely imitated, was their most famous pamphlet. Hone's words and Cruikshank's biting illustrations satirized the corruption of government and excesses of royalty. The "Peterloo" massacre on August 16, 1819, the excess taxation and resulting poverty were horrors that Hone and Cruikshank could not ignore. They also satirized the religious hypocrisy of the time in the poem at the end of the pamphlet, The Clerical Magistrate.
Hone and Cruikshank continued their collaboration during the King's lengthy domestic troubles with Queen Caroline. In 1820, Hone published The Man in the Moon, The Queen's Matrimonial Ladder and Non Mi Ricordo! The following year, they attacked the government in The Political Showman--At Home! and The Right Divine of Kings to Govern Wrong! as well as the conservative press of John Stoddart in A Slap at Slop and the Bridge-Street Gang. During these years, Hone also published Hazlitt's Political Essays (1819), his own "continuation" of Byron in Don Juan. Canto the Third (1819) and Knox's The Spirit of Despotism (1821). Hone's controversial Apocryphal New Testament of 1820 prompted his later replies to its vicious attacks in the Quarterly Review.
Hone's antiquarian interest in the Apocrypha was extended through his research for an unpublished History of Parody (1820-24). Although the collaboration between Hone and Cruikshank was largely over, the latter's illustrations appeared in a one volume compilation of their pamphlets, issued as Facetiae and Miscellanies (1827). Hone turned to mainstream publications of miscellany such as The Every-Day Book (1825-26), The Table Book (1827-28) and The Year Book (1831-32). Economic circumstances forced Hone to relinquish publication control to others such as Hunt and Clark and Thomas Tegg. During this period, he lived in Newington Green and worked on Poor Humphrey's Calendar (1829) published by his daughter Matilda and a new edition of Strutt's Sports and Pastimes of the People of England (1830) for William Reeves. Charles Lamb, Francis Place and other friends ran a subscription to enable Hone to open The Grasshopper coffee-house in Gracechurch Street but it failed by 1833.
In 1832, Hone had a religious conversion and became a follower of the Rev. Thomas Binney. His later work included contributions to The Times, Charles Knight's Penny Magazine and finally The Patriot. Hone moved around from Peckham Rye Common (1833-34) to Bungay (1835), Bolt Court (1835-38) and Tottenham (1838-42). Following several strokes, he died on November 6, 1842.
George Cruikshank (1792-1878) was born in London on September 27, 1792, the son of the caricaturist Isaac Cruikshank (1756?-1811) and younger brother of the artist Robert Cruikshank (1789-1856). As the creator of over 10,000 printed images until his death on February 1, 1878, Cruikshank became well known for his book illustrations after meeting Charles Dickens in 1836. In the context of Adelphi's William Hone Collection, the collaboration between Hone and Cruikshank primarily spanned the years 1815-1821, although the artist later contributed to Hone's antiquarian publications.
Early efforts between the two included topical etchings of an asylum inmate (William Norris), a public hanging (The Horrid Murder of Elizabeth Beasmore) and an engraving of The Maid and the Magpie for Hone's pamphlet La Pie Voleuse (1815). They also collaborated on hand-colored etched caricature prints about the era of Napoleon's downfall, including Fast Colours and The Afterpeice [sic] to the Tragedy of Waterloo of 1815 and The Royal Shambles (1816). In addition, the collection includes Hone's broadsides illustrated by Cruikshank, such as the View of the Regent's Bomb (1816), the ballad Bags Nodle's Feast (1817), the song sheet Great Gobble Gobble Gobble (ca.1818) and the infamous Bank Restriction Barometer with Bank Restriction Note (1819).
During the Regency period of the future King George IV, Cruikshank's illustrations accompanied the satirical pamphlets produced by Hone in the face of political and economic corruption. The fight for freedom of the press was evident in their most famous work, The Political House that Jack Built (1819). Adelphi's William Hone Manuscript Collection includes the payment receipt dated November 19, 1819 from Cruikshank to Hone for "13 Drawings on Wood" for that pamphlet. In addition to proof illustrations for two other pamphlets, The Political Showman--At Home! and A Slap at Slop and the Bridge-Street Gang (1821), there are some original sketches for The Queen's Matrimonial Ladder (1820) and A Slap at Slop.
Adelphi's collection includes Cruikshank's undated pencil portrait sketch of Hone as well as several printed versions. There is an important letter from Hone to Cruikshank advising the artist to include every minute detail in his plate of The Giants at Guildhall for Ancient Mysteries Described (November 22, 1822). In another note, Hone and Cruikshank wrote jointly to the linguist Sir John Bowring (July 31, 1823) requesting more time for the artist to complete his etching proofs (possibly for Bowring's translation of Peter Schlemihl). In addition to Hone's Ancient Mysteries Described (1823), Cruikshank's illustrations were published in The Every-Day Book (1825-26), The Table Book (1827-28) and The Year Book (1831-32); earlier caricatures were republished in pamphlet compilations beginning with Hone's Facetiae and Miscellanies (1827).
As a former owner of at least two unpublished notebooks and a scrap album in Adelphi's collection, George T. Lawley was active as an antiquarian and historian during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. He wrote The Biography of Wolverhampton ... a Record of Local Books, Authors, and Booksellers (1890) and A History of Bilston, in the County of Stafford (1893). According to the description of the Hone papers at Washington State University, Lawley collected correspondence, drafts, articles, illustrations and published works for an unpublished monograph (ca.1913) on Hone's antiquarian works (The Every-Day Book, The Table Book, The Year Book). The Berg Collection at the New York Public Library also has two large volumes of drawings, proofs, letters and clippings collected by Lawley for an unpublished work on Hone and Cruikshank. Lawley acquired these materials from Hone's granddaughter, "Miss Soul." There is also a notation in the scrap album at Adelphi that it was for a time in the possession of Lawley's friend F.W. Hackwood, author of William Hone, his Life and Times (1912).
Scope and Content NoteThe former owners of Adelphi's William Hone Collection, Anne Cliff Renier (n.d.-1988) and F.G. Renier (1905-1988) lived in London. According to Tessa Carter, the curator of their children's literature collection, Anne Cliff worked for a time as a librarian at the Marylebone Library and Fernand Gabriel Renier taught Dutch and was a producer for the B.B.C. Both Reniers translated French and Dutch works into English and Fernand wrote Dutch grammmars and English-Dutch dictionaries. They were avid collectors of children's literature and ephemera; over 80,000 items dating from 1585 to the 1980s were donated to the National Museum of Child-hood at Bethnal Green, a branch of the Victoria and Albert Museum. Their interest in social history and censorship issues led them to political cartoons and radical press material in all media associated with and by William Hone.
The William Hone Manuscript Collection spans the period from 1792-1953, although the bulk of the material dates from 1815-1842. The collection includes correspondence, notebooks, manuscripts, miscellaneous items, a scrap album (with ca.100 items), ephemera and visual materials. The 2.75 linear feet of processed material is arranged to the folder level in 8 document boxes and consists of 5 series:
Series DescriptionI. Correspondence, 1792-1878The correspondence and scrap album provide a wealth of information about politics, publishing and bookselling during the English Regency and early Victorian periods. Important letters include those by Charles Lamb, William Godwin, John Payne Collier, Thomas Rodd, John Britton, and others referring to Hone, Leigh Hunt and William Cobbett. The scrap album also contains letters and papers of the reformer Major John Cartwright. The manuscript material includes an autograph manuscript and two notebooks by Hone from the 1820s: an unpublished satirical pamphlet entitled Buonaparte-phobia--Part the Second, his List of Books on Parody and his Note Book with antiquarian research. The miscellaneous checks and receipts series includes the signed bill of 1819 from George Cruikshank for "13 Drawings on Wood" for The Political House that Jack Built. The small series of original drawings by George Cruikshank includes preparatory sketches for A Slap at Slop and The Queen's Matrimonial Ladder and a caricature portrait of Hone.
II. Manuscript Material, 1809-ca.1830
III. Miscellaneous Checks and Receipts, 1816-1829
IV. Scrap Album and Ephemera, ca. 1816-1953
V. Visual Materials by Cruikshank, ca.1820-1825
The finding aid to The William Hone Manuscript Collection is available in Special Collections at Adelphi University Libraries and the collection has been cataloged in the OCLC database.
Series I. Correspondence, 1792-1878 (Boxes 1-4)195 autograph letters, arranged alphabetically into three subseries:
A. Correspondence from Hone; B. Correspondence to Hone; C. Other Correspondence. Additional letters are located in the Scrap Album (Series IV).
Subseries A. Correspondence from Hone, 1816-1842 (Box 1)
The 61 autograph letters from Hone, arranged alphabetically by addressee, include correspondence with family and friends, as well as letters concerning books, prints and publishing. Most notable are a letter to the artist George Cruikshank about an illustration of The Giants in Guildhall for Hone's Ancient Mysteries Described (22 Nov. 1822) and a joint letter from Hone and Cruikshank to John Bowring requesting more time to finish proofs (31 July 1823). Other letters were written to the nonconformist publisher John Childs (5 Oct. 1824 and 25 Dec. 1825), Hone's first biographer Frances Rolleston (23 Jan. 1834), Joseph Dowling  with queries about Capt. Harrower's trial, and William Paxon (23 Nov. 1825) referring to William Upcott's collection of autograph letters. There are also letters to Hone's son Alfred (7 Mar. and 23 Apr. 1829) and daughter Matilda (29 Oct. 1825).
Subseries B. Correspondence to Hone, 1809-1841 (Boxes 2-3)
The 116 autograph letters to Hone by his contemporaries, arranged alphabetically by correspondent, center about political, bookselling and publishing matters. Most notable are: letters from the topographer John Britton (13 April 1829), the reformer Maj. John Cartwright (May 1809, 24 Jan. 1821), Keats' friend Charles Cowden Clarke (10 July 1820), the literary antiquarian John Payne Collier (26 Oct. 1838), Joseph Dowling's trial information (2 Dec. 1815, , 5 Mar. 1816, 24 Dec. 1819), the printseller and pamphlet printer S.W. Fores (7 Nov. 1820, 27 July 1821), Capt. George Harrower concerning trial proceedings (4 Apr. 1816), the founder of The Examiner John Hunt (20 Jan. 1824), the Shakespearean forger William Henry Ireland, an invitation from Charles Lamb, the publisher Edward Moxon, the historian William Hamilton Reid, the booksellers Thomas Rodd (12 Feb. 1822) and John Timbs (27/31 Dec. 1823), and the engravers L. Williams (8 Mar. 1820) and W. Williams (10 Apr. 1816). There are a number of proposed essays by contributors to Hone's publication, The Every-Day Book.
Subseries C. Other Correspondence, 1792-1878 (Box 4)
The 21 autograph letters, written by others to recipients other than Hone, are arranged alphabetically by writer. There are 10 by the reformer Maj. John Cartwright, including a long congratulatory address and petition to King George III (27 Dec. 1809), one to The Lord Mayor of York (4 Dec. 1815) and two to the artist Benjamin West (9 July and 4 Sept. 1817). There is a letter from the Romantic writer William Godwin concerning Hone's application to consult books in the British Museum (13 Feb. 1818) and a letter from the writer Henry Robertson to Leigh Hunt (25 June 1827). Letters from Hone's son Alfred (12 Oct. 1875) and daughter Matilda (18 Oct. 1878) to Wentworth Sturgeon are included in this subseries.
Series II. Manuscript Material, 1809-ca.1830 (Boxes 5-6)Series III. Miscellaneous Checks and Receipts, 1816-1829 (Box 6)
Subseries A. Manuscript and Notebooks by Hone, ca.1820-30
The autograph manuscript and two notebooks by William Hone date from the 1820s and include, in approximately chronological order:
Buonaparte-phobia. Part the Second., Wm. Hone's List of Books on Parody and William Hone's Note Book.
Buonaparte-phobia. Part the Second is Hone's unpublished manuscript which dates ca.1820-1822 and includes: notes by former owner George T. Lawley, an ink caricature of Sir John Stoddart (the Times editor dubbed "Dr. Slop"), the manuscript Buonaparte-phobia--Part the Second or a Caution to Cursors, news clippings with reviews of Hone's mock newspaper from 1821, A Slap at Slop, copies of the Times' account of Stoddart's dismissal and the latter's prospectus for the New Times.
Wm. Hone's List of Books on Parody dates ca.1820-1824. This notebook includes: notes by former owner George T. Lawley, Hone's estimates of costs of publishing, printing and advertising, and his extensive list of parody books published 1497-1817. While Hone's History of Parody was advertised 1820-1824, it never appeared. Hone's working title was "A History of Parody & a Collection of Parodies from the Invention of Printing & of the Ex Officio Prosecutions & Three State Trials of William Hone for Publishing P.[Political] Parodies on the Catechism, the Litany & the A.[Athanasian] Creed."
William Hone's Note Book, dates ca. 1820-30 and includes: Hone's copy of "Decision of Character" by John Foster, his antiquarian research notes on manuscripts and books at Manchester College Library and visits to churches, as well as accounts, herbal recipes, almanac information and a portrait sketch.
Subseries B. Miscellaneous Manuscript Material by Hone, 1813-1832 (Box 6)
Includes 8 miscellaneous items, arranged chronologically: Hone's comments on criticism leveled at the Marquis Wellesley in 1813, blank sheets with Hone's address, notes on the Practical Digest of all the Laws, and slips bearing Hone's signature.
Subseries C. Miscellaneous Manuscript Material by Others, 1809-1831 (Box 6)
Includes 5 miscellaneous items, arranged alphabetically: anonymous notes on King George IV, Maj. John Cartwright's advertisement for his Reform in the Commons House of Parliament, as well as submissions for Hone's Every-Day Book.
Includes 8 checks and receipts, arranged chronologically, among which are: the payment receipt from George Cruikshank to William Hone for the artist's "13 Drawings on wood" for The Political House that Jack Built (Nov. 19, 1819), and two others dated Aug.28. 1821 and July 5, 1825.Series IV. Scrap Album and Ephemera, 1739-1953 (Box 7)Subseries A. Scrap Album, 1739-1893 (Box 7)Series V. Visual Materials by George Cruikshank, ca.1820-1825 (Box 8)
Scrap Album in green, black, and gilt leather Victorian binding. Consists of 94 numbered pages, with some pages blank and many insertions. Contents purchased by George T. Lawley from Miss Soul, one of Hone's granddaughters; the contents also passed through the hands of Lawley's friend F.W. Hackwood, author of William Hone: His Life and Times (1912). Includes further notes, correspondence, prints and ephemera by and relating to Hone. Of note are: 3 letters by Hone, letters to Hone from Wooler, Leigh Hunt, John Wilson Croker and Charles Phillips, written and drawn submissions for Hone's Every-Day Book, 2 anti-Whig ballads, letters and papers of the reformer Maj. John Cartwright, and a Hogarth engraving.
Subseries B. Ephemera, ca.1816-1953 (Box 7)
Arranged chronologically. Includes 29 items: prints, news clippings, copies of writing by Hone, photostats of letters in the National Library of Scotland and typescripts of letters in the Leigh Hunt Collection at the State University of Iowa. The latter were accompanied by a letter addressed to Anne Renier (Sept. 16, 1953).Subseries A. Drawings by George Cruikshank, ca.1820-1821
Arranged chronologically. Includes four sheets of original sketches for 2 works published by Hone, The Queen's Matrimonial Ladder (1820) and A Slap at Slop (1821) and an undated portrait of Hone.
Subseries B. Copies of Works Related to the Cruikshank Drawings, ca.1820-1825
Arranged chronologically. Includes 5 items: photostat reduction of mock newspaper A Slap at Slop and portraits of Hone.
A. Correspondence from Hone
1 Aspland, Rev. RobertFolder 2
2 Behnes, Charles
3-4 Behnes, Henry
5-10 Behnes, William
16 Bowring, JohnFolder 3
19-20 Childs, John
21 Clarke, Hyde
22 Croker, John Wilson
23 Cruikshank, George
24 Dowling, Joseph Augustus
25-26 Dunn, Henry
27 Dyer, George
28 Fox, W.Folder 4
30 Harrower, George
31 Hogg, E.J./enclosure: Wilkes, Polly
32-33 Hone, Alfred
34 Hone, Matilda
35 Lamb, George
36 Moncrieff, W.T.Folder 5
37 Parker, W.
38 Paxon, William
39 Percy, R.L.
41 Rhodes, W.B.Folder 6
42-43 Rolleston, Frances
44-46 Russell, J.F.
47 Scott, John
48 Shuttleworth, John
49 Thompson, Thomas
50 Wortly, Francis
51-61 Unidentified correspondenceB. Correspondence to Hone
1 Amphlett, J.Folder 2
2 Balfour, J.
3 Barlowe, H.B.
4 Barnes, T.
6 Binney, Thomas
7 Bowring, John
8 Bric, W.
9 Bricke, T.G.
10 Britton, John
12 Burke, W.
14 Busk, Hans
15-16 Cartwright, Maj. JohnFolder 3
17 Clarke, Charles Cowden
18 Clarke, W. Chamberlain
19 Cleary, T.
20 Collier, John Payne
21 Cooper, R.
22 Courtier, P.L.
23 Craig, W.M.
24 D'ArcyFolder 4
25 Dolby, T.
26-30 Dowling, Joseph Augustus
31 Duckett, J.
32 Dyer, George
33 Evans, J.
34 F., H.B. (Unidentified)Folder 5
35 Fawkes, Walter
36-37 Fores, Samuel William
38 Fox, W.J.
39 Fraser, Alexander
40 Freeling, Francis
41 Frend, W.
42 Gilchrist, Dr. John Borthwick
43 Gilpin, Rev. W.
44 Hall, Capt. J.Folder 6
45 Harrower, Capt. George
46 Hunt, John
47 Huttman, William
48 Ireland, William Henry
49 James, Daniel
50 Jocliffe, Mr. & Mrs.
51 Johnson, Goddard
52 Kerrison, Dr.
53 Lamb, Charles
54 Major, JosephBox 3
55 Marshall, Joseph
56 Maule, William
57 McHenry, James
58 Mendicity Society
59 Meron, B.
60 Mertyn, B.
61 Moxon, Edward
62 Nares, Archdeacon R.
63 Newman, W.L.
1 Pettigrew, T.G.Folder 8
2-4 Phillips, Richard
5 Pi___, John
6 Power, Anthony
10 Quigley, Robert J.
11 Ramson, ThomasFolder 9
13 Rees, T.
14 Reid, William Hamilton
15 Riebau, G.
16-17 Rodd, Thomas
18-19 Rudge, Rev. Dr.
20 Russell, J.F.
21 Rutt, J.T.
22 Rutter, J.
23 Ryan, Richard
24 Scholefield, JosephFolder 10
25 Shackell, W.
26 Sharp, W.
27 Smith, Southwood
28-29 Taylor, ArthurFolder 11
30 Taylor, Richard
31 Taylor, Robert
32 Thomas, W.
33 Thompson, John
34 Thompson, Rev.
35 Timbs, John
36 Tovey, E.
37 Von Sacher
38 W[aithman?], R.
39 Wallis, Jon
40 Ward, J.
41 Wells, A.
42 We___, B.
43 White, H.
44 White, T. Holt
45 Williams, George
46 Williams, L.
47 Williams, Thomas Walter
48 Williams, T.
49-50 Wilson, Walter
51 Wontner, John
52 Yate, Walter Honeywood
53 Unknown Correspondent
C. Other Correspondence
1 Barker, E.H.Folder 2
2-11 Cartwright, Maj. John
12 Folkard, William A.
13 Godwin, William
14 Hone, Alfred
15 Hone, Matilda
16 Horne, Thomas H.
17 Jones, W.
18 Robertson, Henry
19 Toovey, James
20 Verini, Mr.
21 Williams, Sir John
II. Manuscript Material
A. Manuscript and Notebooks by Hone
Buonaparte-phobia. Part the SecondFolder 2
Wm. Hone's List of Books on ParodyFolder 3
William Hone's Note Book
B. Miscellaneous Manuscript Material by Hone
Miscellaneous Manuscript Material by Hone
C. Miscellaneous Manuscript Material by Others
Miscellaneous Manuscript Material by Others
III. Miscellaneous Checks and Receipts
Miscellaneous Checks and ReceiptsIV. Scrap Album and Ephemera
A. Scrap Album
19th century clippingsFolder 3
Copies, photostats and typescripts of material related to the Hone Collection
V. Visual Materials by George Cruikshank
4 sheets of original sketches for The Queen's Matrimonial Ladder and A Slap at Slop; Portrait of William HoneFolder 2
Copies related to Cruikshank drawings in the Hone Collection